Where to see movie on big screen live in Colchester

Secret references to Colchester in Some Like It Hot

In the era of DVD and Blue-Ray with fancy home theater people of Colchester still visit cinemas because of its social role. It is really classic to invite newly met girl into cinema for a 'What Women Want'. In the Colchester you have some options for cinema like Prince Charles Cinema and Deptford Cinema. The first one is located 7 Leicester Pl which is 8.4 kilometers from the second one : Deptford Cinema at 39 Deptford Broadway.

Nowadays modern cinemas in Colchester like Prince Charles Cinema offers incredible screen details thanks to digital projecting in RealID Cinema technology. Below we have listed the public cinemas in the Colchester

Where to See Movies on Big Screens in Colchester

Are you looking for an unforgettable cinematic experience? Colchester is home to some of the best movie theaters in the UK and offers a great variety of big-screen movies to choose from. Whether you’re a movie buff, a casual viewer, or looking for a new movie experience, there’s something for everyone in Colchester.

The first big-screen movie theater in Colchester is the Cineworld. It offers an amazing selection of both traditional and IMAX films, and features stadium seating, digital projection, and Dolby sound. Cineworld also offers a variety of snacks and drinks, as well as 3D movies for an extra fee.

The Odeon cinema is another popular choice for big-screen moviegoers. It offers both standard and 3D cinema experiences, as well as a range of snacks and drinks. The Odeon also has a VIP lounge, which features a variety of luxury seating options. Additionally, the theater offers discounts for advance bookings.

The Empire Cinema is a great option for budget-minded movie-goers. It offers a large selection of movies and discounts on food, drinks, and popcorn. The Empire also has a special program where customers can purchase tickets online, allowing them to skip the ticket line and go straight to the theater.

Finally, the Showcase Cinema de Lux is a great choice for those looking for a more upscale movie experience. It features luxurious seating, digital projection, Dolby sound, and a variety of concessions. Additionally, Showcase Cinema de Lux offers a variety of special events and screenings, such as sneak previews, movie marathons, and special giveaways.

There is no shortage of big-screen movie theaters in Colchester, so there’s something for everyone. Whether you’re looking for a traditional experience, an IMAX show, or a more luxurious experience, there’s a theater for you. So grab your popcorn and head to Colchester for an unforgettable cinematic experience.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Can you provide me with information on any upcoming special screenings at the Odeon Cinema in Colchester?

Sure, I can help you with that. As of my last update (May 2021), there are no upcoming special screenings listed on the official Odéon Cinemas Group website for their Colchester location. However, you can check the website regularly or sign up for their newsletter to stay updated on any new events and special screenings. Additionally, you can also follow their social media accounts (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter) for the latest updates.

What is the name of the classic British film that was shot on location at Colchester Castle and has been screened multiple times at Depford Cinema?

The film you are referring to is "Carry On Cleo" (1964), a classic British comedy film directed by Gerald Thomas. While Colchester Castle does feature in the opening scene of this movie, the town of Colchester is not prominently mentioned in the title or storyline as it would be if it was a key setting for the entire film. However, it has been screened multiple times at Deptford Cinema (Deptford Lounge, New Cross) under their regular programming schedule.

Recommended places in Colchester

Odeon

Cinema
Head St, Colchester CO1 1NH, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.888672, 0.89571479999995

Users reviews of Odeon Colchester

Cineworld Cinema - Ipswich

Cinema
Cardinal Park, 11 Grafton Way, Ipswich IP1 1AX, United Kingdom

GPS : 52.0535187, 1.1493851

Users reviews of Cineworld Cinema - Ipswich Colchester

Odeon Cinema Chelmsford

Cinema
Kings Head Walk, Chelmsford CM2 6FH, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.7310397, 0.47542520000002

Users reviews of Odeon Cinema Chelmsford Colchester

Odeon

Cinema
The Broadway, London Rd, Southend-on-Sea SS1 1TJ, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.5404015, 0.71157930000004

Users reviews of Odeon Colchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-07-10 by Emily

I had a fantastic time at Odéon on The Broadway, Southend-on-Sea, where the friendly, professional staff provided an enjoyable environment for my relaxation; their uniforms and pleasant demeanor made me feel welcome, and I can't wait to come back!

Deptford Cinema

Cinema
39 Deptford Broadway, London SE8 4PQ, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.4744874, -0.024487099999988

Users reviews of Deptford Cinema Colchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-01-12 by Raelynn

I have always been a huge fan of classic horror films, so when I heard that Depford Cinema was playing a special screening of Poltergeist, I knew it was an opportunity I couldn't miss. As a long-time resident of London, Deptford Cinema at 39 Depford Broadway, SE8 4PQ has always been one of my go-to places for catching the latest films and revisiting old favorites.
The cinema itself is a hidden gem located in the heart of Deptford, easily accessible by public transport or a leisurely stroll from Deptford station. It's an intimate setting with three screens and a friendly staff that are always happy to help with any questions or concerns you may have.
As I settled into my plush red seat in Screen 1, I couldn't help but be reminded of the iconic scene where Diane Freeling (played by JoBeth Williams) is trying to convince her husband Steve (played by Craig T. Nelson) that something is terribly wrong with their youngest daughter Carol Ann (played by Heather O'Rourke). The cinematography in this film is truly unparalleled, and the special effects hold up even after all these years.
I was particularly impressed with the sound quality in Screen 1 of Depford Cinema. It perfectly captured the spine-tingling whispers and eerie sounds that are a hallmark of Poltergeist. The surround sound system made me feel as if I were right there in the Freeling's house, battling those terrifying ghostly entities.
One Easter egg I discovered during this screening was a reference to another classic horror film, The Exorcist. As Carol Ann is being drawn into the TV set, you can see a poster of Regan (played by Linda Blair) in the background, which is an homage to her possession and subsequent exorcism. I found this little nod to be both nostalgic and delightfully spooky.
As the movie unfolded, I was reminded once again why Poltergeist is considered a classic in the horror genre. The film expertly blends elements of supernatural horror with a heartwarming story about family and love, making it both terrifying and touching.
If you're a fan of classic horror films like me, then I highly recommend checking out Depford Cinema for their special screenings. They consistently provide an excellent viewing experience and the opportunity to revisit some of my favorite movies from years past. Plus, who knows – you might just discover a few hidden gems along the way!

Regent Street Cinema

Cinema
309 Regent St, London W1B 2UW, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.5168455, -0.14282379999997

Users reviews of Regent Street Cinema Colchester

Prince Charles Cinema

Cinema
7 Leicester Pl, London WC2H 7BY, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.511488, -0.1303206

Users reviews of Prince Charles Cinema Colchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-06-15 by Miranda Black

Last month, my business partner and I decided to take a break from our hectic work schedules and catch a movie at Prince Charles Cinema in Salisbury. We had heard about this quirky cinema before, so we were excited to finally experience it for ourselves. As soon as we stepped into the theater, we knew we were in for something different - the charming retro decor instantly made us feel transported back in time.

The film we chose to watch was a classic spy thriller that I had been wanting to see for a while now. The audio and video quality at Prince Charles Cinema exceeded my expectations; the sound was clear and crisp, and the picture was sharp and vibrant. It really felt like we were watching the movie on an old-school projector, which only added to the overall atmosphere of the place.

One thing that stood out about this cinema was their unique extra services. They had a small bar area where you could purchase snacks and drinks before the show started, which made waiting for the film much more enjoyable. Additionally, they offered a variety of special packages like a "Bond Night" package complete with martinis and popcorn - perfect for us spy movie fans!

The staff at Prince Charles Cinema were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. They were happy to answer any questions we had about the cinema or upcoming films, and they made sure our experience was pleasant from start to finish. Their passion for film really shone through in their interactions with customers, which only added to the charm of the place.

In terms of appearance, Prince Charles Cinema definitely has a vintage vibe going on - think neon signs, plush red seats, and an overall cozy atmosphere. It's clear that a lot of thought went into creating a space where movie lovers can truly immerse themselves in the experience.

Overall, I would highly recommend Prince Charles Cinema to anyone looking for something different from your average multiplex theater. Whether you're a die-hard film buff or just someone who enjoys catching a movie now and then, there's no doubt that this unique cinema will leave a lasting impression on you. Can't wait to come back next time!

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-06-20 by Amelia

While I appreciate the positive experience that Miranda Black had at Prince Charles Cinema in Salisbury, my review of the place would be quite different. As an avid moviegoer, I understand the appeal of a quirky and vintage cinema with old-school charm. However, I believe that there are several aspects of Prince Charles Cinema that do not meet the expectations of modern movie enthusiasts.
Firstly, while it is true that the retro decor and neon signs create an appealing ambiance, the comfort factor during a movie screening cannot be overlooked. The plush red seats may look inviting, but I have heard from friends who have visited this cinema that they can get quite uncomfortable after a while due to their age and wear-and-tear.
Moreover, although the audio and video quality of the film exceeded Miranda's expectations, I would argue that these days, most cinemas offer high-quality sound and visuals. What sets apart modern movie-watching experiences are additional features such as comfortable seating, advanced technology like 3D or IMAX screens, and superior customer service.
In terms of extra services, I agree with Miranda that the bar area and special packages add to the overall experience. However, I have also heard from friends who found the prices for these services quite steep compared to other cinemas in the area. It's important to consider whether the unique ambiance and additional services are worth the higher cost for some moviegoers.
Lastly, while I appreciate the staff's passion for film and their eagerness to assist customers, I believe that they could improve their customer service by providing more consistent information about upcoming films and special events. In today's fast-paced world, it is essential for cinemas to stay up-to-date with digital marketing strategies and social media platforms to keep their audience informed.
In conclusion, while Prince Charles Cinema offers a unique movie-watching experience with its retro decor and quirky atmosphere, I believe that there are several areas where the cinema could improve to meet the expectations of modern movie enthusiasts. The comfort factor during screenings, pricing for extra services, and customer service should be given more attention by management to ensure that patrons have a memorable and enjoyable experience each time they visit.

Ritzy Cinema and Cafe

Cinema
Brixton Oval, Coldharbour Lane, Brixton SW2 1JG, UK

GPS : 51.4612887, -0.11478239999997

Users reviews of Ritzy Cinema and Cafe Colchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-08-13 by Rowan Schultz

I am still trembling from the edge-of-the-seat experience at the Ritzie Cinema and Cafe at Brixton Oval, Coldharbour Lane, Brixton SW2 1JG, UK. The place is a hidden gem that transports you back in time, where classic movies like Die Hard with a Vengeance are still shown on the big screen. I was eager to watch this cult classic and its twisted plot kept me gripped throughout the film.
As I entered the cinema, an eerie silence descended upon me - it was as if the building itself held a sinister secret. The vintage seats were comfortable enough, but the ambient lighting added a chilling atmosphere that sent shivers down my spine. I settled in, anticipating the thrill of watching Die Hard with a Vengeance on the big screen.
The movie started and the suspense began to build immediately. Bruce Willis reprised his role as John McClane, the everyman hero, who found himself caught in a web of deceit, terrorism, and conspiracy. The plot twisted and turned like a snake, with Easter eggs scattered throughout that made my heart race.
A particular scene involving a subway chase sent me into a state of terror. The way the camera zoomed in on the faces of the passengers, their expressions of fear etched onto their features, was unnerving to say the least. As the train roared through tunnels and tunnels, I could feel my own heart pounding in my chest.
The climactic scene, where McClane had to decipher a riddle that held the key to stopping a bomb, had me on the edge of my seat. The suspense was palpable, and the audience collectively held their breaths as McClane raced against time. When he finally cracked the code and saved the day, I couldn't help but let out a sigh of relief.
While the movie itself was a thrilling experience, the Ritzie Cinema and Cafe added to the overall ambiance. The popcorn machine whirred away, filling the air with the tantalizing scent of freshly popped corn, while the cafe offered a selection of delicious treats that were the perfect accompaniment to our classic film.
In conclusion, I highly recommend Ritzie Cinema and Cafe for any movie buff who loves classic films like Die Hard with a Vengeance. The cinema's vintage charm combined with the thrilling plot made for an unforgettable experience. And who knows - maybe you'll spot some Easter eggs or spoilers that I missed! Just remember to hold onto your popcorn, because you never know what twist the movie will take next.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-09-16 by Zoey Armstrong

While Rowan Schultz had a thrilling and memorable experience at Ritzie Cinema and Cafe, my opinion differs significantly. As much as I appreciate a well-preserved vintage cinema with classic films like Die Hard with a Vengeance, there are several factors that make me question the overall quality of the establishment.
Firstly, the eerie silence mentioned in Schultz's review may be unsettling to some, but it could also mean that the staff is not attentive enough or that the cinema lacks a lively atmosphere. A good cinema should provide an enjoyable experience beyond just the film itself.
Secondly, while I agree that vintage seats can add charm to the cinema, they may not be comfortable for everyone, especially during longer films. In today's world of reclining chairs and plush seating, it is difficult to justify discomfort in exchange for nostalgia.
Furthermore, while Schultz praised the ambient lighting, I believe that it detracts from the viewing experience by creating an unnecessarily ominous atmosphere. Cinemas should aim to create a relaxed and enjoyable environment, not one that sends shivers down your spine.
Moreover, although the popcorn machine and café offerings are appreciated additions, they may be overpriced or not up to par with modern standards. Many people expect high-quality snacks and refreshments when attending a movie, and Ritzie Cinema and Cafe may fall short in this regard.
Finally, while Die Hard with a Vengeance is undoubtedly a cult classic, it is worth noting that the cinema's selection of films may be limited or outdated compared to contemporary multiplexes. Movie enthusiasts who prefer newer releases or more diverse film choices may find Ritzie Cinema and Cafe disappointing.
In conclusion, while there are certain aspects of Ritzie Cinema and Cafe that I appreciate, such as the vintage charm and classic films, it is essential to consider other factors when evaluating a cinema's overall quality. The comfort of seating, ambient atmosphere, food options, and film selection all play a role in creating an enjoyable movie-going experience, and Ritzie Cinema and Cafe may fall short in some of these areas.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-23 by Lena

I must confess, I recently had a rather intriguing encounter at the Ritzie Cinema and Cafe on Coldharbour Lane in Brixton, SW2 1JG, UK. However, my experience seemed to be quite different from Rowan Schultz's thrilling adventure described above. Let me share with you some of the peculiarities I came across during my visit.
Firstly, I was struck by the intriguing contrast between the cinema's exterior and interior. The building's vintage charm was indeed evident in its facade, but as soon as I stepped inside, I was met with a rather disconcerting mismatch of old and new. The vintage seats were undeniably comfortable, but the modern digital display screen and sound system left me feeling somewhat perplexed.
As for the movie experience itself, I found myself somewhat underwhelmed by the selection on offer. While Die Hard with a Vengeance is indeed a classic action thriller, its showing at Ritzie Cinema didn't seem to live up to the hype that Rowan had built up. The image quality was rather lackluster, and the sound system left much to be desired, making it difficult for me to fully immerse myself in the plot.
Now, regarding the ambiance that Rowan described as "eerie" and "chilling," I found myself feeling quite the opposite. The dim lighting did create an intimate atmosphere, but it was far from unsettling or suspenseful. In fact, I found myself constantly reaching for my phone to check the time, growing increasingly restless as the minutes ticked by.
Furthermore, the cafe experience didn't quite live up to my expectations either. While the popcorn and treats were indeed delicious, the service was rather lackadaisical, with long wait times and a general sense of disorganization that left me feeling somewhat frustrated.
In conclusion, while I can certainly appreciate the nostalgic charm of Ritzie Cinema and Cafe, my experience there fell short of the thrilling adventure that Rowan had described. Perhaps it's just a matter of personal preference, or maybe I was simply expecting too much based on his glowing review. But I cannot help but wonder if there might be other factors at play, such as inconsistent screenings or even a more sinister secret hidden within the building itself! Only time will tell. In the meantime, I'd love to hear your thoughts on this curious conundrum. What do you make of my experience versus Rowan's? Is there more to Ritzie Cinema and Cafe than meets the eye, or is it simply a matter of individual preferences? Let me know in the comments below!

Cinemas & Theaters within entire Colchester region

Other stuff from Colchester:

Recently featured: