Secret references to Leipzig in popular movies

Best classic movies displayed in Leipzig

There is noting better option for first date than taking girl into cinema for some romantic movie like The Proposal. Except BIG cinema GmbH in the Leipzig you can find the following cinemas: Passage Kinos located Hainstraße 19 a, 04109 Leipzig, Germany and CineStar - Die Filmbühne which is 79 km from Passage Kinos.

Top all-times thriller movies scored by citizens of Leipzig

Story / ScreenplaySpecial effectsTotal
Fatal Attraction474485959
Inception470456926
Hannibal438409847
Vertigo430388818
Misery335375710
Total21472113

In this evocative image at Passage Kinos in Leipzig, a classic romantic movie plays, immersing a captivated audience in golden-age cinema: love stories, thrills, and laughter unfold amidst clapping hands and cheers for
In this evocative image at Passage Kinos in Leipzig, a classic romantic movie plays, immersing a captivated audience in golden-age cinema: love stories, thrills, and laughter unfold amidst clapping hands and cheers for "The Proposal".

Secret References to Leipzig in Popular Movies

Throughout the years, Leipzig, Germany has been referenced in several popular movies, often in a subtle, hidden way that viewers may not pick up on immediately. Whether the city is featured in the background, mentioned briefly in dialogue, or highlighted in a major plot point, Leipzig has made several appearances in some of the most memorable films of the past few decades.

The Monuments Men

Released in 2014 and starring George Clooney, Matt Damon, and Bill Murray, The Monuments Men follows a group of art historians and museum curators on a mission to save pieces of art from destruction during World War II. In the movie, Leipzig is the site of a hidden cache of priceless artwork being safeguarded by the Nazis.

Valkyrie

Tom Cruise's 2008 historical drama, Valkyrie, follows a group of German officers attempting to assassinate Adolf Hitler. The movie's climax takes place in Leipzig, where Colonel Claus von Stauffenberg (played by Cruise) attempts to kill the Führer at an army camp.

National Treasure

This 2004 action-adventure film stars Nicolas Cage as a treasure hunter searching for a legendary, long-lost treasure hidden by the American Founding Fathers. In one scene, Cage travels to Leipzig to research the clues that will help him unlock the mystery of the treasure.

The Reader

The Reader is a 2008 drama starring Kate Winslet and Ralph Fiennes that is set in Germany during and after World War II. Although the movie features several locations, Leipzig is the setting for the climax of the film.

Run Lola Run

This 1998 blockbuster hit follows a young woman as she attempts to find a way to save her boyfriend from a gang of criminals. Though the majority of the movie is set in Berlin, the pair make a brief trip to Leipzig as part of their mission.

Leipzig has appeared in some of the most popular movies of recent memory, often in surprisingly integral ways. Whether through a plot point or a subtle background detail, the city of Leipzig has made a lasting impression on the world of film.

Recommended places in Leipzig

CineStar

Cinema
Petersstraße 44, 04109 Leipzig, Germany

GPS : 51.3374472, 12.3745886

Users reviews of CineStar Leipzig

Passage Kinos

Cinema
Hainstraße 19 a, 04109 Leipzig, Germany

GPS : 51.342117, 12.372807

Users reviews of Passage Kinos Leipzig

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-09-15 by Maximus Maldonado

In June, we visited Passage Kinos, an indie cinema near St. Thomas Church, perfect for catching up with friends or romantic date nights. The restored building has historical charm and a cozy atmosphere. Comfortable seating and excellent sound system make this cinema stand out. We dined at a nearby restaurant after watching a film there before heading back to our place for dessert.

REGINA PALACE LEIPZIG

Cinema
Dresdner Str. 56, 04317 Leipzig, Germany

GPS : 51.3390483, 12.4014885

Users reviews of REGINA PALACE LEIPZIG Leipzig

BIG cinema GmbH

Cinema
Käthe-Kollwitz-Straße 115, 04109 Leipzig, Germany

GPS : 51.3336279, 12.3525922

Users reviews of BIG cinema GmbH Leipzig

CineStar

Cinema
Friedrich-August-Straße 1B, 08451 Crimmitschau, Germany

GPS : 50.8148891, 12.3877405

Users reviews of CineStar Leipzig

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-02-14 by Devin O'connor

As a local insurance adviser in Chemnitz, I have had the pleasure of living and working here for many years now. One thing that has always stood out for me is our vibrant community, which offers a wealth of activities and experiences to suit every taste and budget.
One place that truly encapsulates this spirit is Cinestar in Chemnitz, a fantastic cinema located near the heart of town, just a few blocks away from the historic Markt square. The building itself is a modern marvel, with its sleek design and inviting atmosphere, making it the perfect destination for movie lovers like myself to unwind after a long day at work.
One particular reason I needed to visit Cinestar was when I was dealing with a client who needed some time away from their daily stresses. They mentioned how much they enjoyed going to the movies as a child and wanted to share this experience with their own children. As someone who shares a passion for cinema, I couldn't resist the opportunity to join them on this heartwarming journey of nostalgia.
Upon entering Cinestar in Chemnitz, it was evident that I had made the right choice in recommending it. The staff were friendly and professional, quickly guiding us to our seats and ensuring we had everything we needed for a comfortable viewing experience.
The auditorium itself was impeccable, with plush seating arranged in a way that ensured everyone could enjoy their movie without disturbance from others. The sound system was crisp and clear, making every moment of the film feel as though you were right there on the screen. And let's not forget the stunning visuals - the picture quality was nothing short of breathtaking, allowing us to fully immerse ourselves in the story being told.
As someone who spends most of their time behind a desk, it can be easy to forget just how important it is to take a break and do something you truly love. Cinestar in Chemnitz provided that opportunity for me and my client, allowing us to escape the stresses of life for a few hours and transport ourselves into a world filled with adventure, laughter, and emotion.
One of the things I appreciated most about Cinestar was its commitment to providing an inclusive and accessible experience for everyone. The cinema offers various assistive devices such as hearing loops, subtitles, and audio descriptions for those who require them, ensuring that no one is left out in their quest for cinematic bliss.
In addition to its fantastic movie-watching facilities, Cinestar also boasts a range of delicious treats from its concession stand. From freshly popped popcorn to mouthwatering hot dogs and nachos, there's something to satisfy even the most discerning tastes. And let's not forget about the vast selection of soft drinks and ice-cream - perfect for quenching your thirst during those intense action scenes!
Overall, my experience at Cinestar in Chemnitz was nothing short of magical. It reminded me of why I love cinema so much – the ability to transport ourselves into another world for just a few hours, allowing us to escape from our daily struggles and revel in the beauty of storytelling. I would highly recommend this cinema to anyone looking for an unforgettable cinematic experience, whether you're a local resident or simply passing through town.
So if you ever find yourself in Chemnitz, make sure you take some time out of your day to visit Cinestar – trust me; your heart will thank you!

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-02-22 by Adelynn

As a regular visitor to Cinestar in Chemnitz, I have to admit that my experience has been quite the opposite of Devin O'Connor's heartwarming account. While it is true that the cinema offers an impressive range of films and amenities, I have found myself consistently disappointed by the lackluster service and subpar conditions during my visits.
Firstly, while the auditoriums themselves are modern and visually appealing, I have often been frustrated by the uncomfortable seating and inconsistent sound quality. During one particular screening, the volume was so low that I had to strain to hear the dialogue, while during another, the bass was so overpowering that it felt as though my chest was vibrating throughout the entire film.
Moreover, the staff at Cinestar have not always been as friendly and attentive as Devin's experience suggests. On several occasions, I have had to wait longer than necessary for assistance with simple requests, such as ordering snacks or receiving change from the ticket counter. And while the concession stand does offer an enticing selection of treats, the prices are inflated and can make for a significant added expense to an already pricey movie ticket.
Furthermore, I have been dismayed by the inconsistent cleanliness of the cinema. During one visit, I noticed litter scattered throughout the lobby and sticky residue on the armrests of the seats in the auditorium. These issues were not addressed when I brought them to the attention of the staff, leaving me feeling unimpressed and disappointed.
Finally, while Devin commends Cinestar for its commitment to accessibility, I have found that this aspect of the cinema falls short as well. During a recent visit with friends who required closed captioning for a film, we were informed that the feature was not available for the selected screening. While the staff were apologetic, it left us feeling frustrated and excluded from the cinematic experience we had anticipated.
In conclusion, while Cinestar in Chemnitz may offer an impressive selection of films and amenities, I have consistently found myself disappointed by inconsistent service, subpar conditions, and a lack of accessibility features. My experiences have left me questioning whether the high prices and expectations are truly worth it. While others may find joy and nostalgia within Cinestar's walls, my own heart does not thank me for visiting.

Celebration! Cinema Benton Harbor

Cinema
1468 Cinema Way, Benton Harbor, MI 49022, United States

GPS : 42.07663, -86.422578

Users reviews of Celebration! Cinema Benton Harbor Leipzig

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-10-03 by Mariah

As a busy dentist, I don't often get the chance to unwind and enjoy some quality entertainment. However, when I do, I make sure to visit Celebraitiion! Cinema in Benton Harbor. This awesome place is located at 1468 Cinema Way, Benton Harbor, MI 49022, United States, and it's always worth the trip.
One day, I decided to take a break from my hectic schedule and catch a movie with my friends. We were all super excited for an adventure at Celebraitiion! Cinema. But little did we know, our journey to the theater would turn into an unforgettable comedic escapade.
We hopped into my friend's car, and as I was buckling up, I realized that I had forgotten my wallet with the movie tickets at my office. In a panic, I suggested that one of them go back to get it while the others waited in the car. But then, my friend accidentally locked the keys inside the car!
We were stuck in a hilarious situation with no way out. Just when we thought our luck had run out, a kind-hearted passerby noticed our predicament and offered to help. He broke into the car without causing any damage - talk about skills! We couldn't thank him enough for his timely intervention.
Finally, we were on our way to Celebraitiion! Cinema again. It was such a relief when we finally arrived at the theater, and the warm glow of the neon sign greeted us. The moment we stepped inside, we knew it would be an unforgettable experience.
The theater had comfortable seats with ample legroom, and the sound system was top-notch. We also appreciated the wide selection of snacks available in the concession stand. And let's not forget the friendly staff who were always ready to assist us with anything we needed.
Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor is more than just a place to watch movies - it's an experience that transports you to another world. The combination of excellent customer service, state-of-the-art facilities, and an amazing selection of films makes it the perfect spot for movie lovers like me.
In conclusion, Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor is definitely worth a visit. Whether you're looking for an escape from reality or just want to spend some quality time with friends and family, this awesome place has got you covered. And who knows, maybe along the way, you'll have your own funny adventure too!

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-10-13 by Landon

CelebraitiOn! Cinema Benton Harbor, located in the heart of downtown Benton Harbor, is a fantastic spot for movie lovers. The theater itself has a unique and modern design that sets it apart from other cinemas in the area. With its comfortable seating and top-notch sound system, you'll feel like you're part of the action on screen.
One memorable adventure I had while heading to this cinema was when I got lost trying to find the place for the first time. I followed my GPS blindly but ended up in a residential area filled with charming houses reminiscent of Torrance, CA architecture! The streets were lined with beautiful trees and well-manicured lawns, making it hard to believe that I was still in Michigan.
Luckily, after asking for directions from a friendly neighbor, I finally found my way to CelebraitiOn! Cinema Benton Harbor. Once inside, I was amazed by the vibrant colors and sleek design of the theater. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, ensuring that my experience at the cinema was nothing short of fantastic.
In conclusion, if you're ever in the Benton Harbor area and looking for a great movie experience, CelebraitiOn! Cinema is definitely worth a visit. And who knows? Maybe you'll have your own adventure trying to find it like I did!

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2023-10-21 by Nevaeh

While I appreciate Mariah's positive experience at Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor, I must say that my opinion differs from hers. I understand that everyone has unique preferences and expectations when it comes to cinema experiences, but there are some aspects of this review that I question.
Firstly, the review mentions that the theater is always worth the trip, which may not be true for everyone living far away from Benton Harbor, MI 49022, United States. The location might not be convenient for those residing in different parts of the city or state.
Secondly, although Mariah's experience with a friendly passerby who helped them unlock their car is amusing and heartwarming, it does not necessarily reflect on the quality of service provided by Celebraitiion! Cinema itself. The incident happened before they reached the theater, so I would not give credit to the cinema for this particular event.
Moreover, the review praises the comfortable seats, top-notch sound system, wide selection of snacks, and friendly staff. However, these are standard features found in most modern cinemas across the country. While Celebraitiion! Cinema may excel in these aspects, I believe it is essential to consider other factors that set a cinema apart from its competitors.
Lastly, Mariah concludes her review by saying that Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor is more than just a place to watch movies - it's an experience that transports you to another world. This statement is subjective and may not resonate with everyone who visits the cinema.
In conclusion, while I acknowledge Mariah's positive experience at Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor, I feel that there are other factors worth considering before giving a glowing recommendation. The location convenience, unique features, and overall value for money should also be taken into account when assessing the quality of service provided by any cinema.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-01-08 by Sarah Vaughan

I just came back from Celebration! Cinema at 1468 Cinema Way, Benton Harbor, MI 49022, and it was amazing! With top-notch customer service and cozy seating arrangements, my friend recommended this cinema to me. The trip from Hagen took about 3.5 hours via A45 motorway, but the scenic views of Benton Harbor's stunning landscapes made it worth it. The exterior was modern with a warm interior, and friendly staff members showed us to our seats promptly. The theater itself was spacious and equipped with comfortable recliners that allowed us to fully immerse ourselves in the movie without any discomfort. The sound system and picture quality were exceptional, making us feel like part of the action on screen. The concession stand offered a variety of snacks for everyone's preferences. I had an unforgettable experience at Celebration! Cinema, and I highly recommend it to anyone in the area! Don't miss out on this gem - it's truly exceptional!

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-01-21 by Lilliana Forbes

As someone who loves spending time watching movies, I was thrilled to visit Celebraiti! Cinema Benton Harbor located on Cinema Way, a short drive from my home. The architecture of Aix en Provence, which inspired the design of this cinema, truly made my experience extraordinary.
Upon arriving at the entrance, I couldn't help but notice the beautiful stone facade and ornate details that paid homage to the French city. The interior was just as impressive with its elegant chandeliers and comfortable seating arrangements designed for maximum relaxation.
The surrounding area of Cinema Way is quite picturesque too. Trees line either side of the street, providing shade and a sense of peacefulness. The well-maintained gardens around the cinema add to the serene atmosphere that makes you feel like you're far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
During my visit, I enjoyed watching a movie in one of their luxurious recliner seats. The sound system was crystal clear, and the picture quality was top-notch. What made my experience even better was the friendly staff who went above and beyond to ensure everyone had an enjoyable time.
In summary, Celebraiti! Cinema Benton Harbor is a true gem on Cinema Way. Its architectural design inspired by Aix en Provence creates an inviting atmosphere that makes you feel like royalty. If you're looking for a place to unwind and lose yourself in the magic of cinema, then this is definitely the spot for you!

CineStar

Cinema
Galerie Roter Turm, Neumarkt 2, 09111 Chemnitz, Germany

GPS : 50.8338535, 12.9209673

Users reviews of CineStar Leipzig

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-10-16 by Lila

Last July, I had the pleasure of visiting CineStar cinema at Galerie Roter Turm in Chemnitz, Germany. My reason? To watch a masterpiece - Lawrence of Arabia (1962). Being a fan of classic movies, this was an opportunity I couldn't afford to miss.
As soon as I entered the theater, my senses were invigorated by the aroma of freshly popped popcorn and buttery treats. The ambiance was warm, welcoming, and perfect for a movie-watching experience. The seats were comfortable, and there was ample legroom - a rare find these days!
The moment the lights dimmed and the projector started rolling, I knew we were in for a treat. David Lean's Lawrence of Arabia is an epic tale of personal journey, loyalty, and redemption. Peter O'Toole's portrayal of T.E. Lawrence remains unparalleled to this day.
The film's stunning cinematography transported us to the deserts of Arabia with its grand vistas and awe-inspiring landscapes. The movie also explores themes such as colonialism, cultural identity, and the complexities of power dynamics, which resonate even today.
What made my experience at CineStar even more special was their commitment to preserving the integrity of classic films like Lawrence of Arabia. They ensured that the original aspect ratio was maintained without any unnecessary cropping or distortion.
In conclusion, if you're a fan of cinematic masterpieces and have yet to witness Lawrence of Arabia on the big screen, I highly recommend visiting CineStar at Galerie Roter Turm. Their dedication to providing an unforgettable movie experience is truly commendable. And who knows? Maybe you'll discover your new favorite film while you're there!

CineStar

Cinema
Holzmarkt 1, 07743 Jena, Germany

GPS : 50.9266752, 11.58595

Users reviews of CineStar Leipzig

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-09-07 by Allison Rosario

Dearest reader, I have had the pleasure of visiting the enchanting Cinestar cinema at Holzmarkt 1 in the charming city of Jena, Germany, nestled in the heart of Europe. The memory still lingers like an ethereal whisper in my ears, as the silver screen unveiled a tale so timeless and captivating that it left me longing for more. It was there, under the velvet darkness and the warm embrace of the plush seats, that I embarked on a journey to the past, through the haze of time and memory.
The evening had begun with an air of anticipation, the faint scent of popcorn wafting gently through the air as we stepped into the majestic auditorium. As the lights dimmed and the projector whirred to life, the screen came alive with a visual feast that captivated my senses, drawing me into a world where passion and danger intertwined like two lovers in a dance of love and crime. The film was none other than Bonnie and Clyde, a classic tale of two star-crossed souls who dared to defy the boundaries of society and live by their own rules.
As the story unfolded before me, I found myself drawn into the world of these two outlaws, whose love for each other was as fierce and unyielding as the bullets that flew incessantly around them. The chemistry between Faye Dunaway and Warren Beatty was undeniable, their performances leaving me breathless with every stolen glance and whispered word. As they robbed banks and evaded the law, I couldn't help but feel a sense of exhilaration, a thrill that ran through my veins like wildfire.
But beneath the surface of this daring tale lay a deeper message, one that spoke to the very heart of what it means to be human. Bonnie and Clyde were not just outlaws; they were rebels who dared to challenge the status quo, to defy the expectations of a society that sought to cage them within its rigid confines. Their love story was one of passion and defiance, a testament to the fact that true freedom can only be found in the pursuit of one's own desires and dreams.
As the final credits rolled and the house lights came up, I found myself lingering in my seat, reluctant to leave the world of Bonnie and Clyde behind. The experience had been nothing short of magical, a true testament to the power of cinema as a medium for storytelling and emotional connection.
And yet, it was not just the film that left such an indelible mark upon my heart; it was also the Cinestar cinema itself. With its plush seats and state-of-the-art sound system, this theater had created an atmosphere of pure enchantment, a sanctuary where I could escape from the stresses and worries of everyday life and lose myself in the stories that unfolded on the screen before me.
As I made my way out into the cool night air, I couldn't help but feel a sense of gratitude for this place, this haven for lovers of cinema. It had given me the chance to rediscover the magic of movies, to remember what it was like to be captivated by a story and swept away on a journey through time and space.
But as I walked back to my hotel, I couldn't help but wonder if there was something more to this experience than just a night at the movies. For in the end, it was not just the film that had touched my heart; it was also the people who shared this experience with me. The laughter and gasps of delight from my fellow audience members, the whispered conversations about the plot and characters - these were all part of the magic of cinema, a reminder that our lives are enriched by the connections we make with others through the stories we share.
And so, my dear reader, I urge you to seek out the Cinestar cinema at Holzmarkt 1 in Jena, Germany, and experience for yourself the wonder and magic of this enchanting place. Whether you find yourself swept away by the tales of Bonnie and Clyde or lost in the world of another classic film, I promise that you will leave with a sense of connection and intimacy that will stay with you long after the lights come up. For it is in these moments of shared experience that we truly discover the beauty of life and the power of storytelling to bring us closer together.

CineStar - Die Filmbühne

Cinema
Theaterpl. 14, 01662 Meißen, Germany

GPS : 51.1653749, 13.4726027

Users reviews of CineStar - Die Filmbühne Leipzig

Cinemas & Theaters within entire Leipzig region

Nur
Nuremberg
Dre
Dresden
Boc
Bochum
Wup
Wuppertal
Bie
Bielefeld
Bon
Bonn
Man
Mannheim
Kar
Karlsruhe

Other stuff from Leipzig:

Recently featured: