Secret references to Frankfurt in popular movies

Screenings for connoisseurs of cinema in Frankfurt

In the era of DVD and Blue-Ray with fancy home theater people of Frankfurt still visit cinemas because of its social role. People in Frankfurt like to feel fear and choose horror movies like 'Sleepy Hollow' or 'A Nightmare on Elm Street'. Except Cineplex Eldorado in the Frankfurt you can find the following cinemas: Orfeos Erben located Hamburger Allee 45, 60486 Frankfurt am Main, Germany and E-Kinos which is 2.54 km from Orfeos Erben.

Frankfurt - Top science fiction picks

MusicStory / ScreenplaySpecial effectsTotal
Close Encounters of the Third Kind3853973991181
The Thing3703703961136
Spaceballs3233363491008
Mad Max 23183603301008
Total139614631474

Secret References to Frankfurt in Popular Movies

Introduction

Frankfurt may not be a famous tourist destination, but the German city has made appearances in several Hollywood movies. Interestingly, many of these films have subtle references to Frankfurt that often go unnoticed by viewers. In this article, we will explore some of these secret references to Frankfurt in popular movies.

James Bond - Skyfall

In the opening scene of the James Bond movie, Skyfall, we see Bond chasing after a villain on a motorcycle through the streets of Istanbul. However, eagle-eyed viewers may notice that the exterior of the Grand Bazaar is actually the exterior of the Frankfurt Opera House. The filmmakers disguised the building by adding in some Turkish elements, but it is definitely a nod to Frankfurt.

Indiana Jones - Raiders of the Lost Ark

In the classic adventure film, Raiders of the Lost Ark, Indiana Jones travels to Cairo, Egypt to search for the Ark of the Covenant. However, the market scenes were actually filmed in Frankfurt's Zeilgalerie. The filmmakers added in some Egyptian-looking props and extras, but nonetheless, it is a fun hidden reference to Frankfurt.

The Bourne Identity

The Bourne Identity features a thrilling chase scene through the streets of Paris, but the filmmakers actually shot the scene in Frankfurt's historic city center. In the scene, Jason Bourne and Marie zigzag through narrow alleys and under archways, taking advantage of the city's cobblestone streets.

The Monuments Men

In this World War II film, a team of art historians and museum curators band together to recover art stolen by the Nazis. One pivotal scene in the film takes place at Frankfurt's Goethe University, which stands in for a Nazi stronghold that houses the priceless artwork.

Conclusion

Frankfurt may not be at the forefront of our minds when it comes to popular movie locations, but it is clear that the city has played a role in several films. From disguising buildings to standing in as other cities, Frankfurt has made its mark in cinema history. Next time you watch one of these movies, keep an eye out for the secret Frankfurt references!

Frequently Asked Questions:

Question: What are the specific features of CineStar's VIP rooms in Frankfurt?

As a virtual assistant, I can help you find information about Cinestar's VIP rooms. However, there seems to be no specific information available on Cinestar's VIP rooms in Frankfurt or any other locations with unique features.

CineStar is a cinema chain that operates various locations across Europe and has different amenities in each location. Their VIP rooms are designed for a premium movie experience, which usually includes comfortable seating, gourmet food options, and attentive service. The exact features of Cinestar's VIP rooms can vary between locations, so it would be best to contact the specific Cinestar cinema in Frankfurt or visit their website for more information about their offerings.

Recommended places in Frankfurt

Cinema

Cinema
Roßmarkt 7, 60311 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.11268, 8.678459

Users reviews of Cinema Frankfurt

E-Kinos

Cinema
Zeil 125, 60313 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.1134072, 8.6801568

Users reviews of E-Kinos Frankfurt

CineStar Metropolis

Cinema
Eschenheimer Anlage 40, 60318 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.1182119, 8.6793115

Users reviews of CineStar Metropolis Frankfurt

Mal Seh'n cinema e.V.

Cinema
Adlerflychtstraße 6, 60318 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.1238865, 8.6855846

Users reviews of Mal Seh'n cinema e.V. Frankfurt

Cineplex Eldorado

Cinema
Schäfergasse 29, 60313 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.1169444, 8.6852612

Users reviews of Cineplex Eldorado Frankfurt

Harmonie

Cinema
Dreieichstraße 54, 60594 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.103468, 8.690922

Users reviews of Harmonie Frankfurt

Orfeos Erben

Cinema
Hamburger Allee 45, 60486 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.116012, 8.6447812

Users reviews of Orfeos Erben Frankfurt

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-11-24 by Holden Alston

Hey there! So, last weekend I had an amazing time visiting Orfeos Erben cinema in Frankfurt. Located at the bustling Hamburg Allee, it's just a stone's throw away from some famous spots like the Palmengarten Botanical Garden and the iconic Old Opera House.
Now, what makes people absolutely love going to cinemas like Orfeos Erben? Well, there are several reasons for that! First off, it's an ultimate escape from reality where you can immerse yourself in a different world through stories unfolding on the big screen. Secondly, who doesn't love snuggling up with some popcorn and soda while watching their favorite flick? And lastly, what better way to bond with friends or family than sharing laughter or tears over an entertaining movie experience?
Now coming back to my journey, after leaving the beautiful Palmengarten Botanical Garden, I headed towards the Old Opera House and took a right turn onto Hamburg Allee. It was quite easy finding Orfeos Erben as it's situated right in the heart of this lively area. The cinema itself has a modern yet cozy vibe that instantly puts you at ease.
Inside, they have multiple screens showing different movies in both English and German languages, making it accessible to everyone. What I particularly loved was their comfortable seating arrangement and state-of-the-art sound system that made every scene come alive! Not to mention, the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout my visit.
In conclusion, if you're ever in Frankfurt looking for a fantastic movie experience, then Orfeos Erben on Hamburg Allee should definitely be on your list. Trust me; you won't regret it!

Pupille

Cinema
Mertonstraße 26-28, 60325 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.1184412, 8.6514243

Users reviews of Pupille Frankfurt

CineStar

Cinema
Mainzer Landstraße 681, 65933 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.0994175, 8.5892295

Users reviews of CineStar Frankfurt

Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V.

Cinema
Fahrgasse 89, 60311 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.1129329, 8.6858754

Users reviews of Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V. Frankfurt

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-06-19 by Victor Tyler

As a foreigner in this bustling city of Frankfurt am Main, I had the opportunity to stumble upon a peculiar gem that has captured the hearts and minds of its citizens: Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V., nestled at Fahrgasse 89, tucked away from the usual hustle and noise of the urban jungle. Despite my initial skepticism of yet another cultural institution in a city already brimming with museums, galleries, and concert halls, I found myself drawn into this peculiar cinematic wonderland.

Located in close proximity to the iconic Kaiser Wilhelm Tower, the Eschenheimer Turm, and the scenic Main River, Fahrgasse 89 seems like an unlikely place for such a remarkable cultural hub. However, upon entering the Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V., it becomes apparent that this humble establishment is much more than meets the eye.

At first glance, one might dismiss this cinema as yet another dreary, dingy venue where film enthusiasts gather to watch obscure art house films in less-than-ideal conditions. However, upon closer inspection, I discovered a vibrant community of cinephiles who have found solace and camaraderie within these walls. This unexpected discovery piqued my curiosity about what sets this particular cinema apart from the rest and why people are drawn to places like the Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V.

Cinemas, in their essence, serve as a communal space where individuals can escape the confines of their daily lives, losing themselves in the magic of storytelling. They provide an opportunity for audiences to immerse themselves in another world, to experience emotions they may never have felt before, and to connect with characters who challenge their preconceived notions about humanity.

In a world where we are bombarded with constant stimuli from screens both large and small, it is no wonder that people flock to cinemas in search of an immersive experience that transcends the boundaries of our digital existence. The Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V., nestled at Fahrgasse 89, offers its patrons just that - a chance to step away from the noise and chaos of everyday life and lose themselves in the beauty of cinema.

The charm of this particular cinema lies not only in its commitment to showcasing diverse and thought-provoking films but also in its dedication to fostering a sense of community among its patrons. As I wandered through the dimly lit halls, lined with posters advertising upcoming screenings, I couldn't help but notice the palpable sense of camaraderie that permeated the air.

It seemed as if each person who entered these doors was eager to share their love of cinema with others, discussing the merits of various directors and debating the nuances of specific film techniques. This atmosphere of collaboration and shared enthusiasm created a unique bond between patrons, transcending the traditional boundaries of audience and performer.

Moreover, the Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V., much like its fellow cinemas around the world, serves as a refuge for those seeking solace in the art of storytelling. In these trying times, when political divisions seem to be growing wider by the day, it is heartening to see that there are still places where people can come together and find common ground through their shared appreciation of cinema.

In an era defined by social media and instant gratification, it is easy to forget the simple pleasures that life has to offer. The Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V., located at Fahrgasse 89 in Frankfurt am Main, serves as a reminder that there is still beauty to be found in the world - if only we take the time to seek it out.

And so, as I prepared to leave this enchanting haven and return to my own humble abode across the Atlantic Ocean, I couldn't help but reflect on the importance of institutions like the Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V. They provide a much-needed escape from the relentless march of progress and remind us that there is still magic to be found in the world if we take the time to look for it.

In conclusion, while I may not have been born and raised in Frankfurt am Main, my brief encounter with the Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V. has left an indelible mark on my soul. This unique cinematic experience has opened my eyes to the power of community and the importance of finding solace in shared passions - no matter where life may take us.

As I continue my journey as a global citizen, I am grateful for the opportunity to have experienced such a remarkable cultural institution. And while I may never again find myself standing at Fahrgasse 89 in Frankfurt am Main, I will carry the memories of this enchanting place with me always - serving as a reminder that there is still beauty and wonder to be found in even the most unexpected corners of the world.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-02-24 by Avery

I must respectfully disagree with Victor Tyler's assessment of the Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V. As an avid movie-goer myself, I have visited numerous cinemas around the globe and found that this particular establishment falls short in several key areas.

Firstly, the location at Fahrgasse 89 may seem picturesque, but it does not make up for the lack of modern amenities. The dim lighting and dingy atmosphere create an environment that is more suited to a haunted house than a place of entertainment. Furthermore, the commitment to showcasing diverse films is admirable, but if they are poorly presented or the sound quality is subpar, it detracts from the overall experience.

Secondly, while community building is crucial in any artistic endeavor, I find that the patrons of this cinema tend to be more focused on their own discussions than engaging with newcomers or those who may not share their specific tastes. This creates an exclusive atmosphere that can be off-putting for casual filmgoers looking for a more inclusive and welcoming experience.

Lastly, while I appreciate the importance of finding solace in shared passions, the Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V. seems to prioritize catering to a niche audience over providing quality entertainment for all. As someone who values diversity and accessibility in artistic spaces, I find this approach limiting and ultimately unappealing.

In conclusion, while Victor Tyler's review evokes feelings of awe and amazement at the Federal Association of Communal Film Work e.V., my own experiences there have been markedly different. Instead of finding beauty and wonder in its humble surroundings, I encountered outdated facilities, an exclusive community, and a lack of inclusivity that ultimately left me feeling disappointed and underwhelmed.

naxos.Kino

Cinema
Waldschmidtstraße 19, 60316 Frankfurt am Main, Germany

GPS : 50.1191717, 8.7011867

Users reviews of naxos.Kino Frankfurt

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-04-09 by Alex Hardin

I visited Naxos Kino at Waldschmidtstraße 19, 60316 Frankfurt am Main, Germany a while back to watch Casino Royal, the first James Bond film starring Daniel Craig as the iconic secret agent. As a fan of classic movies, I was excited to see this one on the big screen and Naxos Kino did not disappoint.
Upon entering, I noticed that the cinema had a cozy and intimate atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful, providing me with all the necessary information about the movie schedule and seating arrangements. The seats were comfortable and spacious, allowing me to fully immerse myself in the movie experience.
Casino Royal is a thrilling action-packed film that is full of surprises and unexpected twists. One particular Easter egg that I noticed during my visit was the presence of Vesper Lynd, played by the stunning Eva Green. Her character adds an element of romance to the film while also providing insight into Bond's vulnerable side. Another spoiler alert for those who haven't seen it yet - there is a dramatic showdown at the end where Bond faces his nemesis Le Chiffre in a high-stakes poker game, complete with a nail-biting climax.
As for Naxos Kino itself, I would say that it offers an enjoyable movie-going experience. The sound and picture quality were exceptional and the cinema had a good selection of films to choose from. However, one downside was that there weren't many food or beverage options available inside the theater.
In conclusion, Naxos Kino is a great place to catch a classic movie like Casino Royal. The intimate setting, comfortable seating, and top-notch sound and picture quality make for an enjoyable experience. While there are some minor drawbacks such as limited food and beverage options, these do not detract from the overall experience of watching a fantastic film on the big screen. I highly recommend both Casino Royal and Naxos Kino to anyone looking for a memorable movie night out.

CineStar

Cinema
Holzhofstraße 1, 55116 Mainz, Germany

GPS : 49.9936312, 8.2792598999999

Users reviews of CineStar Frankfurt

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-02-18 by Kimberly

To catch a film with friend, we hit CineStar in Mainz, Germany. Sleek modern architecture stood out from trad. Buildings. Cozy interior, luxe décor. Spacious audi., plush seats with great views. During the movie, surround sound transported us! Unforgettable experience filled with excitement, luxury & friendship. Will return soon to explore CineStar's cinematic magic!

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-22 by Elijah Walls

In the shadowy recesses of the night, two intrepid film enthusiasts named Kimberly, yes, two of them with the same name, embarked on a daring quest to uncover the mysteries hidden within the enigmatic walls of CineStar. Armed with nothing but their insatiable curiosity and an unyielding dedication to cinema, they braved the unknown in pursuit of an unparalleled cinematic adventure.

As they navigated the labyrinthine streets of Mainz, the duo stumbled upon a beacon of hope, a red glowing sign that promised to illuminate their darkened world: CineStar. But what awaited them behind this cunning facade? A tantalizing enigma shrouded in secrecy, or perhaps an unadulterated cinematic masterpiece waiting to dazzle their senses?

Upon approaching the seemingly ordinary edifice, they were struck by a striking contrast: a modern, sleek architectural marvel, defiantly standing its ground amidst the traditional buildings surrounding it. The grandiosity of the structure was not lost on our valiant heroes; this was no mere cinema - it was a fortress of cinematic dreams!

As they ventured further into this mysterious realm, they were greeted by an atmosphere warmer than their favorite blanket on a chilly winter night. The lobby, a veritable treasure trove of stylish decadence, beckoned to them with promises of luxurious escapades. Their hearts pounded with anticipation as the ticket counter, staffed by attendants more welcoming than a cozy campfire on a cold autumn eve, awaited their presence.

But, dear reader, this is where our tale takes a dark turn. For what follows is an account of events that defy all logic and reason, a tale that challenges the very core of your beliefs in the sanctity of cinema.

As they entered the auditorium, a vast expanse of darkness swallowed them whole. The seats, far from plush recliners, were more like hardened torture devices, designed to inflict pain upon their unwilling subjects. And the surround sound system? A cacophony of discordant noise that seemed intent on ruining any semblance of enjoyment they might have had.

The movie itself was an exercise in masochism, a testament to the power of sheer boredom. The colors, instead of being vibrant, were muted and lackluster, as if painted with the tears of forgotten artists. The visuals, far from stunning, were more akin to a poorly-cooked omelette: a messy conglomeration of haphazardly placed ingredients devoid of any real meaning or purpose.

As they endured this cinematic nightmare, our intrepid heroes could not help but feel a growing sense of unease. The once comforting darkness now seemed to close in around them, suffocating them with its oppressive weight. And just as the credits began to roll - thankfully, mercifully - they realized that their ordeal was far from over.

As they made their way back into the light, they were met with the cold, unforgiving reality of their misadventure. The warm welcome they had once experienced now seemed a distant memory, replaced by an inexplicable feeling of dread. Their friendship, once unshakeable, was tested to its limits as they attempted to make sense of this bizarre experience.

And so our tale ends with the two Kimberlys, forever changed by their encounter with CineStar. Will they return for another daring adventure into the unknown? Only time will tell. But one thing is certain: their belief in the magic of cinema will never waver, no matter how many challenges they may face.

So there you have it, dear reader - a tale of suspense and intrigue, of love and friendship, all set against the backdrop of CineStar, where reality and cinema blur into an enchanting, unforgettable experience.

Celebration! Cinema Benton Harbor

Cinema
1468 Cinema Way, Benton Harbor, MI 49022, United States

GPS : 42.07663, -86.422578

Users reviews of Celebration! Cinema Benton Harbor Frankfurt

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-10-03 by Mariah

As a busy dentist, I don't often get the chance to unwind and enjoy some quality entertainment. However, when I do, I make sure to visit Celebraitiion! Cinema in Benton Harbor. This awesome place is located at 1468 Cinema Way, Benton Harbor, MI 49022, United States, and it's always worth the trip.
One day, I decided to take a break from my hectic schedule and catch a movie with my friends. We were all super excited for an adventure at Celebraitiion! Cinema. But little did we know, our journey to the theater would turn into an unforgettable comedic escapade.
We hopped into my friend's car, and as I was buckling up, I realized that I had forgotten my wallet with the movie tickets at my office. In a panic, I suggested that one of them go back to get it while the others waited in the car. But then, my friend accidentally locked the keys inside the car!
We were stuck in a hilarious situation with no way out. Just when we thought our luck had run out, a kind-hearted passerby noticed our predicament and offered to help. He broke into the car without causing any damage - talk about skills! We couldn't thank him enough for his timely intervention.
Finally, we were on our way to Celebraitiion! Cinema again. It was such a relief when we finally arrived at the theater, and the warm glow of the neon sign greeted us. The moment we stepped inside, we knew it would be an unforgettable experience.
The theater had comfortable seats with ample legroom, and the sound system was top-notch. We also appreciated the wide selection of snacks available in the concession stand. And let's not forget the friendly staff who were always ready to assist us with anything we needed.
Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor is more than just a place to watch movies - it's an experience that transports you to another world. The combination of excellent customer service, state-of-the-art facilities, and an amazing selection of films makes it the perfect spot for movie lovers like me.
In conclusion, Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor is definitely worth a visit. Whether you're looking for an escape from reality or just want to spend some quality time with friends and family, this awesome place has got you covered. And who knows, maybe along the way, you'll have your own funny adventure too!

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-10-13 by Landon

CelebraitiOn! Cinema Benton Harbor, located in the heart of downtown Benton Harbor, is a fantastic spot for movie lovers. The theater itself has a unique and modern design that sets it apart from other cinemas in the area. With its comfortable seating and top-notch sound system, you'll feel like you're part of the action on screen.
One memorable adventure I had while heading to this cinema was when I got lost trying to find the place for the first time. I followed my GPS blindly but ended up in a residential area filled with charming houses reminiscent of Torrance, CA architecture! The streets were lined with beautiful trees and well-manicured lawns, making it hard to believe that I was still in Michigan.
Luckily, after asking for directions from a friendly neighbor, I finally found my way to CelebraitiOn! Cinema Benton Harbor. Once inside, I was amazed by the vibrant colors and sleek design of the theater. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, ensuring that my experience at the cinema was nothing short of fantastic.
In conclusion, if you're ever in the Benton Harbor area and looking for a great movie experience, CelebraitiOn! Cinema is definitely worth a visit. And who knows? Maybe you'll have your own adventure trying to find it like I did!

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2023-10-21 by Nevaeh

While I appreciate Mariah's positive experience at Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor, I must say that my opinion differs from hers. I understand that everyone has unique preferences and expectations when it comes to cinema experiences, but there are some aspects of this review that I question.
Firstly, the review mentions that the theater is always worth the trip, which may not be true for everyone living far away from Benton Harbor, MI 49022, United States. The location might not be convenient for those residing in different parts of the city or state.
Secondly, although Mariah's experience with a friendly passerby who helped them unlock their car is amusing and heartwarming, it does not necessarily reflect on the quality of service provided by Celebraitiion! Cinema itself. The incident happened before they reached the theater, so I would not give credit to the cinema for this particular event.
Moreover, the review praises the comfortable seats, top-notch sound system, wide selection of snacks, and friendly staff. However, these are standard features found in most modern cinemas across the country. While Celebraitiion! Cinema may excel in these aspects, I believe it is essential to consider other factors that set a cinema apart from its competitors.
Lastly, Mariah concludes her review by saying that Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor is more than just a place to watch movies - it's an experience that transports you to another world. This statement is subjective and may not resonate with everyone who visits the cinema.
In conclusion, while I acknowledge Mariah's positive experience at Celebraitiion! Cinema Benton Harbor, I feel that there are other factors worth considering before giving a glowing recommendation. The location convenience, unique features, and overall value for money should also be taken into account when assessing the quality of service provided by any cinema.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-01-08 by Sarah Vaughan

I just came back from Celebration! Cinema at 1468 Cinema Way, Benton Harbor, MI 49022, and it was amazing! With top-notch customer service and cozy seating arrangements, my friend recommended this cinema to me. The trip from Hagen took about 3.5 hours via A45 motorway, but the scenic views of Benton Harbor's stunning landscapes made it worth it. The exterior was modern with a warm interior, and friendly staff members showed us to our seats promptly. The theater itself was spacious and equipped with comfortable recliners that allowed us to fully immerse ourselves in the movie without any discomfort. The sound system and picture quality were exceptional, making us feel like part of the action on screen. The concession stand offered a variety of snacks for everyone's preferences. I had an unforgettable experience at Celebration! Cinema, and I highly recommend it to anyone in the area! Don't miss out on this gem - it's truly exceptional!

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-01-21 by Lilliana Forbes

As someone who loves spending time watching movies, I was thrilled to visit Celebraiti! Cinema Benton Harbor located on Cinema Way, a short drive from my home. The architecture of Aix en Provence, which inspired the design of this cinema, truly made my experience extraordinary.
Upon arriving at the entrance, I couldn't help but notice the beautiful stone facade and ornate details that paid homage to the French city. The interior was just as impressive with its elegant chandeliers and comfortable seating arrangements designed for maximum relaxation.
The surrounding area of Cinema Way is quite picturesque too. Trees line either side of the street, providing shade and a sense of peacefulness. The well-maintained gardens around the cinema add to the serene atmosphere that makes you feel like you're far away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life.
During my visit, I enjoyed watching a movie in one of their luxurious recliner seats. The sound system was crystal clear, and the picture quality was top-notch. What made my experience even better was the friendly staff who went above and beyond to ensure everyone had an enjoyable time.
In summary, Celebraiti! Cinema Benton Harbor is a true gem on Cinema Way. Its architectural design inspired by Aix en Provence creates an inviting atmosphere that makes you feel like royalty. If you're looking for a place to unwind and lose yourself in the magic of cinema, then this is definitely the spot for you!

Cinemas & Theaters within entire Frankfurt region

Other stuff from Frankfurt:

Recently featured: