What theater choose in Portsmouth UK ?

History of cinematography in Portsmouth UK

by Mateo Tran

Since 2006 there was at least 13 movies crews on the streets of Portsmouth UK. For example in Back to the Future the famous scene with Sienna Garcia while she run away from the hotel was shot in No Man's Fort. Above examples are not the only one from Portsmouth UK. For example Hotel ibis Portsmouth Centre at Winston Churchill Ave was also used in film production from 2006.

Portsmouth UK - Best gangster & mafia movies picks by audience

Special effectsMusicTotal
Get Carter387403790
Gangs of New York380374754
High Sierra359324683
Miller's Crossing310352662
Total14361453

What Theater to Choose in Portsmouth UK

Introduction

Portsmouth, the UK's only island city, is home to several theaters that offer a diverse range of performances, from plays to musicals to comedy shows. If you're looking for some entertainment while in Portsmouth, here are some theaters you might want to consider.

The New Theatre Royal

The New Theatre Royal is one of the oldest theaters in Portsmouth, having opened its doors in 1856. Although it has undergone several refurbishments over the years, it has maintained its traditional charm. The theater hosts a variety of shows, from drama to comedy to music, as well as workshops and classes for aspiring performers.

The Kings Theatre

The Kings Theatre is a Grade II listed building that has been operating since 1907. As the name suggests, it has a regal feel to it, with its ornate decorations and chandelier-adorned auditorium. The theater is known for its productions of classic plays and musicals, as well as hosting popular comedians and live events.

The Groundlings Theatre

The Groundlings Theatre is a community theater that has been operating since 2011, but the building that houses it dates back to the 1780s. The theater puts on a variety of shows, from Shakespeare to modern plays, as well as offering drama workshops and acting classes. The intimate setting of the theater provides an up-close and personal experience for the audience.

The Wedgewood Rooms

The Wedgewood Rooms may not be your traditional theater, but it is a popular venue for live music and comedy shows. It has hosted well-known acts such as Oasis, Blur, and comedian Michael McIntyre. The venue has a capacity of 400 people, making it an intimate experience for fans of any performer.

The Portsmouth Guildhall

The Portsmouth Guildhall may be better known as a concert venue, but it also hosts theater productions, from family-friendly shows to adult drama. The building itself is a stunning example of neo-classical architecture, and its size makes it a great venue for large-scale productions.

Conclusion

Whether you're a theater enthusiast or just looking for some entertainment while in Portsmouth, these theaters offer a diverse range of shows and experiences. From traditional to contemporary, there's something for everyone in the city's thriving theater scene.

Recommended places in Portsmouth UK

Odeon Cinema Port Solent

Cinema
Portway, Cosham, Port Solent PO6 4TS, United Kingdom

GPS : 50.840555, -1.0965679999999

Users reviews of Odeon Cinema Port Solent Portsmouth UK

No6 Cinema

Cinema
Boathouse 6, Portsmouth PO1 3LJ, United Kingdom

GPS : 50.7999517, -1.1066971

Users reviews of No6 Cinema Portsmouth UK

Showcase Cinema de Lux

Cinema
Level 4, West Quay Shopping Centre, Southampton SO15 1QF, United Kingdom

GPS : 50.9020315, -1.407001

Users reviews of Showcase Cinema de Lux Portsmouth UK

Odeon IMAX Cinema Southampton

Cinema
Leisure World, W Quay Rd, Southampton SO15 1RE, United Kingdom

GPS : 50.9024071, -1.413137

Users reviews of Odeon IMAX Cinema Southampton Portsmouth UK

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-04-04 by Ayla Dominguez

I still remember that fateful day when my wife and I ventured out to the Odeon IMAX Cinema in Southampton, way back during our first year of marriage. We had heard so much about this cinema, especially its jaw-dropping screen size and state-of-the-art sound system that promised to transport us into the heart of every horror movie we chose to watch.

As soon as we entered the premises, I was struck by the sheer scale of it all. The place looked like a giant spaceship from a sci-fi movie, with its towering glass facade and sleek metallic finish that seemed to reflect the city's vibrant life outside. We walked up to the box office, greeted by the friendly staff who guided us through our ticket selection process for the latest horror flick we were dying to see.

The moment we stepped into the theatre, I felt like I had been transported into another dimension. The screen loomed large above us, its immense size swallowing up every inch of space in the room. It was as if we were about to witness the birth of a giant monster from some B-grade movie! And then came the sound - a deafening roar that seemed to reverberate through my very bones, making me question whether the theatre had been built on an active volcano!

The seats were plush and comfortable, perfect for snuggling up with my wife while we braced ourselves for the upcoming scares. And oh boy, did they deliver! From the first jump-scare to the last heart-stopping moment, it felt like we were living every second of that movie. The clarity of video was impeccable; you could see every bead of sweat on the actor's forehead, every creak in the old mansion.

But what truly made our experience memorable were the extra services offered by Odeon IMAX. They had a dedicated menu with gourmet popcorn flavors, ice-cold drinks, and even a range of alcoholic beverages for those who dared to indulge during their horror fix! The staff was attentive yet unobtrusive, ensuring we had everything we needed without disrupting the movie experience.

However, there were a few minor hiccups along the way. The restrooms could have been cleaner, and the acoustics at certain points in the theater made it difficult to hear dialogue clearly. But these minor issues didn't dampen our spirits; after all, we were there to immerse ourselves in fear and adrenaline!

In conclusion, Odeon IMAX Cinema Southampton remains etched in my memory as one of the best cinematic experiences I've ever had. Its impeccable audio-visual setup, attentive staff, and extra services make it a must-visit destination for movie enthusiasts seeking a true cinematic adventure. So whether you're a fan of horror movies or any other genre, trust me when I say that Odeon IMAX Cinema Southampton will leave you breathless and craving for more!

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-05-12 by Grace Haynes

A healthcare professional recognizes that individuals prefer immersive experiences near popular attractions in Southampton. The cinema offers high-definition visuals and exceptional sound quality, conveniently accessible from the hospital via Leisure World on Shirley Road post-discharge.

Odeon Cinema

Cinema
Churchill Way W, Basingstoke RG22 6PG, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.2654932, -1.1185938

Users reviews of Odeon Cinema Portsmouth UK

Audio T

Cinema
29 London Rd, Portsmouth PO2 0BH, United Kingdom

GPS : 50.8142223, -1.0800493

Users reviews of Audio T Portsmouth UK

Cineworld Cinema - Crawley

Cinema
Unit 1, Crawley Leisure Park, London Rd, Crawley RH10 8LR, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.1209801, -0.18931569999995

Users reviews of Cineworld Cinema - Crawley Portsmouth UK

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-09-07 by Roman Goodwin

As an ardent fan of classic James Bond films, I couldn't pass up on the chance to watch GoldenEye when it was being screened at Cinéworld Cinema in Crawley last summer. The cinema is located conveniently within the Crawley Leisure Park and offers a wide range of seating options, including the standard cinema chairs and luxury recliner seats.
Upon arriving at the cinema, I noticed that the ticket counter was well-staffed with friendly personnel who were eager to assist with any queries or concerns we had. The foyer had a pleasant ambiance, with ample space for guests to mingle and purchase refreshments from the concession stand before heading into the auditorium.
The auditorium itself was spacious and comfortable, boasting state-of-the-art sound and visual systems that enhanced my viewing experience of GoldenEye. The cinema also had a decent selection of trailers for upcoming movies which kept me entertained while I waited for the film to start.
GoldenEye is a classic Bond film starring Pierce Brosnan as James Bond, and it follows his mission to save the world from a rogue MI6 agent played by Sean Bean. The film's plot has numerous twists and turns that keep viewers engaged until the very end. There are also several Easter eggs for fans of the franchise, such as the appearance of Q, played by Desmond Llewelyn, who provides Bond with a new gadget – a pen with an explosive tip.
One memorable scene in GoldenEye is when Bond confronts the film's antagonist, Alec Trevelyan (played by Sean Bean), on top of the GoldenEye satellite dish. As they engage in a deadly duel, it becomes evident that Trevelyan has turned rogue after betraying MI6 and partnering with Russian General Ourumov to launch a series of devastating satellites onto London and Washington D.C.
In conclusion, my experience at Cinéworld Cinema - Crawley cinema was enjoyable, and the viewing of GoldenEye proved to be a fantastic way to spend an evening. The cinema's modern facilities, comfortable seating arrangements, and impressive visual and sound systems make it an ideal venue for film enthusiasts. If you are a fan of classic James Bond films or simply looking for a fun movie night out, I highly recommend checking out Cinéworld Cinema - Crawley and catching a screening of GoldenEye.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-22 by Kaylee Young

Oh dear Roman Goodwin, your review of Cinéworld Cinema in Crawley has left me feeling quite the opposite! Don't get me wrong, I admire your love for classic James Bond films, but let me take you on a wild ride of laughter and optimism that might just change your perspective.
Firstly, you raved about the convenience of the cinema location within the Crawley Leisure Park and the friendly personnel at the ticket counter. But what if I told you that this convenience comes with an unexpected price? A price where every time you enter the building, you're hit with a wave of nostalgia that takes you back to your childhood days spent at the dentist's office! And as for the friendly staff, well, they might be eager to assist, but their enthusiasm is often overshadowed by their uncanny resemblance to the Muppets.
Then there's the foyer area, with its pleasant ambiance and ample space for guests to mingle and purchase refreshments. But have you ever tried to buy popcorn from the concession stand during a particularly action-packed scene in a movie? Let me tell you, it's a real-life version of that classic game, Operation! One wrong move, and the entire box of Milk Duds goes flying through the air, landing on the unsuspecting patron next to you.
Now let's talk about the auditorium - spacious and comfortable, huh? Well, if by "comfortable," you mean being able to contort yourself into a pretzel while trying not to poke your neighbor with your elbow during the thrilling chase scenes, then yes, I'd agree. And as for those state-of-the-art sound and visual systems, they're so advanced that every time there's an explosion on screen, you feel like you've been transported to a real warzone... or perhaps that rollercoaster ride at the local amusement park that leaves you feeling slightly disoriented for the rest of the day.
Speaking of GoldenEye, I couldn't agree more with your assessment of it being a classic Bond film. But let me paint you a different picture: instead of Pierce Brosnan as the suave and charming James Bond, imagine him more like that quirky neighbor who always shows up at barbecues uninvited, insisting on bringing his own brand of burgers that nobody really enjoys. And Sean Bean's betrayal of MI6? More like a petulant child throwing a tantrum because he didn't get the red crayon instead of the blue one!
Finally, you mentioned the memorable scene on top of the GoldenEye satellite dish, where Bond and Trevelyan engage in their deadly duel. But what if I told you that this scene is actually a hidden homage to the classic game of Twister? I mean, come on, who wouldn't want to see Pierce Brosnan and Sean Bean wrestling each other for control of the "right foot on red" square while trying not to fall off the edge!
So there you have it, Roman Goodwin. I hope this hilarious and optimistic review has given you a whole new appreciation for Cinéworld Cinema in Crawley. And who knows? Maybe next time you're in the mood for some classic James Bond silliness, we'll meet up there for an unforgettable movie experience!

Regent Street Cinema

Cinema
309 Regent St, London W1B 2UW, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.5168455, -0.14282379999997

Users reviews of Regent Street Cinema Portsmouth UK

Odeon Cinema Andover

Cinema
Anton Mill Rd, Andover SP10 2RW, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.203866, -1.4817212

Users reviews of Odeon Cinema Andover Portsmouth UK

Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester

Cinema
Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester, 7 Highcross Lane, Leicester LE1 4SD, United Kingdom

GPS : 52.6367168, -1.139135

Users reviews of Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester Portsmouth UK

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-07-16 by Julia Lynn

I remember visiting Showcase Cinema at Highcross Shopping Centre in Leicester a few years back to watch 'The Man Who Shotted Liberty Valance,' one of my all-time favorite classic movies. The film starred John Wayne and Jimmy Stewart as two men who return to the town where they first met, revealing secrets about their pasts that changed the course of their lives.
As I walked into Showcase Cinema at Highcross Shopping Centre, I couldn't help but be impressed by its modern design and spacious seating areas. The theatre itself was clean and well-maintained with comfortable recliner seats. However, parking could have been easier as it gets quite crowded during peak hours.
The film screening experience at Showcase Cinema was exceptional; the sound quality was superb, and the picture quality was crisp. I appreciated that they allowed patrons to order food and drinks directly from their seats via an app, making the movie-going experience more relaxed and enjoyable.
As for 'The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance,' it's a masterpiece directed by John Ford and based on a short story by Dorothy M. Johnson. The film showcases themes of moral ambiguity, self-sacrifice, and the complexities of the American West. It stars John Wayne as Ransom Stoddard, a young lawyer who arrives in the town of Shinbone with dreams of making it big but ends up getting involved in local politics and rivalries.
If you haven't seen this classic yet, I highly recommend watching it at Showcase Cinema at Highcross Shopping Centre. Just keep an eye out for spoilers – like when Stoddard (Stewart) makes a critical decision that shapes the town's future or when the truth about Liberty Valance's demise is revealed. These moments make 'The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance' an unforgettable experience that will leave you thinking long after the credits roll.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-07-17 by Genesis

I had the pleasure of visiting the Showcase cinema in Karlsruh last month in February, where I watched a great comedy movie alongside my colleagues. As someone who appreciates the finer details in a movie experience, I found that Showcase did not disappoint on multiple fronts.
Firstly, let's talk about audio and video quality. The sound system at Showcase was top-notch; the dialogues were crystal clear, and the background score blended seamlessly with the scenes. The clarity of visuals was equally impressive with the HD projector and big screen providing a cinematic experience that transported me into the world of the movie.
The cinema's appearance also left an impression on me. The comfortable recliner seats made it easy to relax while watching the film, and the spacious layout ensured there was enough room for everyone to spread out without feeling cramped. The ambient lighting added a touch of sophistication to the overall setting.
Another aspect worth mentioning is the extra services offered by Showcase. They have a variety of food and beverage options available, including popcorn, candies, soda, beer, and hot dogs. Their in-house restaurant also serves a selection of snacks, meals, and drinks that can be enjoyed before or after the movie.
The staff at Showcase were incredibly professional and friendly. They made sure to assist us with any queries we had regarding seat selection and extra services. Their promptness in addressing our requests only added to the overall enjoyable experience.
In conclusion, my visit to Showcase cinema in Karlsruh was a memorable one. From the high-quality audio and video to the comfortable seating and excellent customer service, I highly recommend this cinema for anyone looking to catch a movie in town.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-10-20 by Journey

My experience at Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester was nothing short of extraordinary. I had the pleasure of visiting this cinema last summer for a thrilling horror movie marathon with my best friend, Aiden. Our anticipation grew as we approached the magnificent building; its sleek exterior and modern architecture exuded elegance and sophistication.

Upon entering, we were greeted by the warm and inviting atmosphere of the lobby, which was tastefully decorated in shades of black and white with elegant lighting fixtures that set the perfect mood for our horror movie adventure. The staff members at the ticket counter were friendly and professional, providing us with all the information we needed about showtimes, seating arrangements, and other services offered by the cinema.

As we made our way to our assigned auditorium, I couldn't help but marvel at the opulence that surrounded us - luxurious leather recliner seats, plush carpeting underfoot, and a state-of-the-art sound system that promised an immersive cinematic experience. Our expectations were met when we stepped inside the auditorium; the sound was crystal clear, and every detail of the movie's soundtrack reverberated through our bodies like never before.

The video quality was equally impressive - the images were sharp, vibrant, and highly detailed, making it feel as if we were part of the story unfolding on the screen. The color grading was exceptional; even during scenes with low lighting or intense shadows, every aspect of the visuals remained clear and easily discernible.

One aspect that truly sets Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester apart from other cinemas is its commitment to providing an all-encompassing experience for patrons. From the complimentary gourmet popcorn served in large, refillable containers to the extensive menu of delicious food and beverages available at the concession stand, there was no shortage of indulgences to choose from throughout our visit.

The extra services offered by Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester also contributed to making our experience unforgettable. We were able to reserve our seats ahead of time through their convenient online ticketing system, ensuring that we had the best possible seating arrangement for our horror movie marathon. Additionally, their loyalty program allowed us to earn points on every purchase made at the cinema, which could be redeemed for future visits or merchandise from their online store.

Lastly, the staff members at Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester went above and beyond in ensuring that our visit was enjoyable and stress-free. From answering questions about their various services to promptly addressing any issues that arose during our stay, they demonstrated exceptional customer service that left a lasting impression on both Aiden and me.

In conclusion, my visit to Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester last summer was nothing short of remarkable - from the state-of-the-art audio and video technology to the luxurious amenities and impeccable service provided by their staff members, this cinema has truly raised the bar for cinematic experiences. I wholeheartedly recommend Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester to anyone seeking an unforgettable night out at the movies, whether they're catching a new release or revisiting an old favorite.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-10-26 by Tristan Foreman

While I appreciate that you had a great experience at Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester, my opinion differs from yours in several aspects. Firstly, while it is true that the cinema has a sleek and modern exterior, I find the ticket pricing to be rather expensive compared to other cinemas in the area. Additionally, although the lobby was warm and inviting, I have experienced similar atmospheres at more affordable movie houses.
Secondly, while the luxury leather recliner seats may be comfortable for some, I personally prefer traditional cinema seating as it allows me to sit closer to the screen without obstructing the view of others. Furthermore, the sound system and video quality were impressive, but not significantly better than other cinemas I have visited in the past.
Thirdly, while I appreciate the commitment to providing an all-encompassing experience for patrons, I find that the complimentary gourmet popcorn and extensive food and beverage options may not necessarily justify the higher ticket prices. Additionally, although reserving seats ahead of time is convenient, it does not always guarantee optimal seating arrangements as other patrons may also reserve similar seats.
Lastly, while the loyalty program and exceptional customer service are commendable, I believe that these factors should be considered alongside the overall value for money. In conclusion, while Showcase Cinema de Lux Leicester offers a luxurious cinema experience, I personally feel that there are more affordable alternatives in the area that provide similar amenities without breaking the bank.

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2023-12-31 by Luke

I visited Showcase Cinema in Gelsenkirchen during the summer of last year to enjoy an action-packed movie session with my friend. The quality of both audio and visual was impressive, which made the experience even more enjoyable. However, the cinema itself could use some renovation as it appeared quite dated. Additionally, the staff seemed a bit understaffed but were still friendly and helpful throughout our visit.

Ritzy Cinema and Cafe

Cinema
Brixton Oval, Coldharbour Lane, Brixton SW2 1JG, UK

GPS : 51.4612887, -0.11478239999997

Users reviews of Ritzy Cinema and Cafe Portsmouth UK

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-08-13 by Rowan Schultz

I am still trembling from the edge-of-the-seat experience at the Ritzie Cinema and Cafe at Brixton Oval, Coldharbour Lane, Brixton SW2 1JG, UK. The place is a hidden gem that transports you back in time, where classic movies like Die Hard with a Vengeance are still shown on the big screen. I was eager to watch this cult classic and its twisted plot kept me gripped throughout the film.
As I entered the cinema, an eerie silence descended upon me - it was as if the building itself held a sinister secret. The vintage seats were comfortable enough, but the ambient lighting added a chilling atmosphere that sent shivers down my spine. I settled in, anticipating the thrill of watching Die Hard with a Vengeance on the big screen.
The movie started and the suspense began to build immediately. Bruce Willis reprised his role as John McClane, the everyman hero, who found himself caught in a web of deceit, terrorism, and conspiracy. The plot twisted and turned like a snake, with Easter eggs scattered throughout that made my heart race.
A particular scene involving a subway chase sent me into a state of terror. The way the camera zoomed in on the faces of the passengers, their expressions of fear etched onto their features, was unnerving to say the least. As the train roared through tunnels and tunnels, I could feel my own heart pounding in my chest.
The climactic scene, where McClane had to decipher a riddle that held the key to stopping a bomb, had me on the edge of my seat. The suspense was palpable, and the audience collectively held their breaths as McClane raced against time. When he finally cracked the code and saved the day, I couldn't help but let out a sigh of relief.
While the movie itself was a thrilling experience, the Ritzie Cinema and Cafe added to the overall ambiance. The popcorn machine whirred away, filling the air with the tantalizing scent of freshly popped corn, while the cafe offered a selection of delicious treats that were the perfect accompaniment to our classic film.
In conclusion, I highly recommend Ritzie Cinema and Cafe for any movie buff who loves classic films like Die Hard with a Vengeance. The cinema's vintage charm combined with the thrilling plot made for an unforgettable experience. And who knows - maybe you'll spot some Easter eggs or spoilers that I missed! Just remember to hold onto your popcorn, because you never know what twist the movie will take next.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-09-16 by Zoey Armstrong

While Rowan Schultz had a thrilling and memorable experience at Ritzie Cinema and Cafe, my opinion differs significantly. As much as I appreciate a well-preserved vintage cinema with classic films like Die Hard with a Vengeance, there are several factors that make me question the overall quality of the establishment.
Firstly, the eerie silence mentioned in Schultz's review may be unsettling to some, but it could also mean that the staff is not attentive enough or that the cinema lacks a lively atmosphere. A good cinema should provide an enjoyable experience beyond just the film itself.
Secondly, while I agree that vintage seats can add charm to the cinema, they may not be comfortable for everyone, especially during longer films. In today's world of reclining chairs and plush seating, it is difficult to justify discomfort in exchange for nostalgia.
Furthermore, while Schultz praised the ambient lighting, I believe that it detracts from the viewing experience by creating an unnecessarily ominous atmosphere. Cinemas should aim to create a relaxed and enjoyable environment, not one that sends shivers down your spine.
Moreover, although the popcorn machine and café offerings are appreciated additions, they may be overpriced or not up to par with modern standards. Many people expect high-quality snacks and refreshments when attending a movie, and Ritzie Cinema and Cafe may fall short in this regard.
Finally, while Die Hard with a Vengeance is undoubtedly a cult classic, it is worth noting that the cinema's selection of films may be limited or outdated compared to contemporary multiplexes. Movie enthusiasts who prefer newer releases or more diverse film choices may find Ritzie Cinema and Cafe disappointing.
In conclusion, while there are certain aspects of Ritzie Cinema and Cafe that I appreciate, such as the vintage charm and classic films, it is essential to consider other factors when evaluating a cinema's overall quality. The comfort of seating, ambient atmosphere, food options, and film selection all play a role in creating an enjoyable movie-going experience, and Ritzie Cinema and Cafe may fall short in some of these areas.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-23 by Lena

I must confess, I recently had a rather intriguing encounter at the Ritzie Cinema and Cafe on Coldharbour Lane in Brixton, SW2 1JG, UK. However, my experience seemed to be quite different from Rowan Schultz's thrilling adventure described above. Let me share with you some of the peculiarities I came across during my visit.
Firstly, I was struck by the intriguing contrast between the cinema's exterior and interior. The building's vintage charm was indeed evident in its facade, but as soon as I stepped inside, I was met with a rather disconcerting mismatch of old and new. The vintage seats were undeniably comfortable, but the modern digital display screen and sound system left me feeling somewhat perplexed.
As for the movie experience itself, I found myself somewhat underwhelmed by the selection on offer. While Die Hard with a Vengeance is indeed a classic action thriller, its showing at Ritzie Cinema didn't seem to live up to the hype that Rowan had built up. The image quality was rather lackluster, and the sound system left much to be desired, making it difficult for me to fully immerse myself in the plot.
Now, regarding the ambiance that Rowan described as "eerie" and "chilling," I found myself feeling quite the opposite. The dim lighting did create an intimate atmosphere, but it was far from unsettling or suspenseful. In fact, I found myself constantly reaching for my phone to check the time, growing increasingly restless as the minutes ticked by.
Furthermore, the cafe experience didn't quite live up to my expectations either. While the popcorn and treats were indeed delicious, the service was rather lackadaisical, with long wait times and a general sense of disorganization that left me feeling somewhat frustrated.
In conclusion, while I can certainly appreciate the nostalgic charm of Ritzie Cinema and Cafe, my experience there fell short of the thrilling adventure that Rowan had described. Perhaps it's just a matter of personal preference, or maybe I was simply expecting too much based on his glowing review. But I cannot help but wonder if there might be other factors at play, such as inconsistent screenings or even a more sinister secret hidden within the building itself! Only time will tell. In the meantime, I'd love to hear your thoughts on this curious conundrum. What do you make of my experience versus Rowan's? Is there more to Ritzie Cinema and Cafe than meets the eye, or is it simply a matter of individual preferences? Let me know in the comments below!

Prince Charles Cinema

Cinema
7 Leicester Pl, London WC2H 7BY, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.511488, -0.1303206

Users reviews of Prince Charles Cinema Portsmouth UK

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-06-15 by Miranda Black

Last month, my business partner and I decided to take a break from our hectic work schedules and catch a movie at Prince Charles Cinema in Salisbury. We had heard about this quirky cinema before, so we were excited to finally experience it for ourselves. As soon as we stepped into the theater, we knew we were in for something different - the charming retro decor instantly made us feel transported back in time.

The film we chose to watch was a classic spy thriller that I had been wanting to see for a while now. The audio and video quality at Prince Charles Cinema exceeded my expectations; the sound was clear and crisp, and the picture was sharp and vibrant. It really felt like we were watching the movie on an old-school projector, which only added to the overall atmosphere of the place.

One thing that stood out about this cinema was their unique extra services. They had a small bar area where you could purchase snacks and drinks before the show started, which made waiting for the film much more enjoyable. Additionally, they offered a variety of special packages like a "Bond Night" package complete with martinis and popcorn - perfect for us spy movie fans!

The staff at Prince Charles Cinema were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. They were happy to answer any questions we had about the cinema or upcoming films, and they made sure our experience was pleasant from start to finish. Their passion for film really shone through in their interactions with customers, which only added to the charm of the place.

In terms of appearance, Prince Charles Cinema definitely has a vintage vibe going on - think neon signs, plush red seats, and an overall cozy atmosphere. It's clear that a lot of thought went into creating a space where movie lovers can truly immerse themselves in the experience.

Overall, I would highly recommend Prince Charles Cinema to anyone looking for something different from your average multiplex theater. Whether you're a die-hard film buff or just someone who enjoys catching a movie now and then, there's no doubt that this unique cinema will leave a lasting impression on you. Can't wait to come back next time!

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-06-20 by Amelia

While I appreciate the positive experience that Miranda Black had at Prince Charles Cinema in Salisbury, my review of the place would be quite different. As an avid moviegoer, I understand the appeal of a quirky and vintage cinema with old-school charm. However, I believe that there are several aspects of Prince Charles Cinema that do not meet the expectations of modern movie enthusiasts.
Firstly, while it is true that the retro decor and neon signs create an appealing ambiance, the comfort factor during a movie screening cannot be overlooked. The plush red seats may look inviting, but I have heard from friends who have visited this cinema that they can get quite uncomfortable after a while due to their age and wear-and-tear.
Moreover, although the audio and video quality of the film exceeded Miranda's expectations, I would argue that these days, most cinemas offer high-quality sound and visuals. What sets apart modern movie-watching experiences are additional features such as comfortable seating, advanced technology like 3D or IMAX screens, and superior customer service.
In terms of extra services, I agree with Miranda that the bar area and special packages add to the overall experience. However, I have also heard from friends who found the prices for these services quite steep compared to other cinemas in the area. It's important to consider whether the unique ambiance and additional services are worth the higher cost for some moviegoers.
Lastly, while I appreciate the staff's passion for film and their eagerness to assist customers, I believe that they could improve their customer service by providing more consistent information about upcoming films and special events. In today's fast-paced world, it is essential for cinemas to stay up-to-date with digital marketing strategies and social media platforms to keep their audience informed.
In conclusion, while Prince Charles Cinema offers a unique movie-watching experience with its retro decor and quirky atmosphere, I believe that there are several areas where the cinema could improve to meet the expectations of modern movie enthusiasts. The comfort factor during screenings, pricing for extra services, and customer service should be given more attention by management to ensure that patrons have a memorable and enjoyable experience each time they visit.

Deptford Cinema

Cinema
39 Deptford Broadway, London SE8 4PQ, United Kingdom

GPS : 51.4744874, -0.024487099999988

Users reviews of Deptford Cinema Portsmouth UK

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-01-12 by Raelynn

I have always been a huge fan of classic horror films, so when I heard that Depford Cinema was playing a special screening of Poltergeist, I knew it was an opportunity I couldn't miss. As a long-time resident of London, Deptford Cinema at 39 Depford Broadway, SE8 4PQ has always been one of my go-to places for catching the latest films and revisiting old favorites.
The cinema itself is a hidden gem located in the heart of Deptford, easily accessible by public transport or a leisurely stroll from Deptford station. It's an intimate setting with three screens and a friendly staff that are always happy to help with any questions or concerns you may have.
As I settled into my plush red seat in Screen 1, I couldn't help but be reminded of the iconic scene where Diane Freeling (played by JoBeth Williams) is trying to convince her husband Steve (played by Craig T. Nelson) that something is terribly wrong with their youngest daughter Carol Ann (played by Heather O'Rourke). The cinematography in this film is truly unparalleled, and the special effects hold up even after all these years.
I was particularly impressed with the sound quality in Screen 1 of Depford Cinema. It perfectly captured the spine-tingling whispers and eerie sounds that are a hallmark of Poltergeist. The surround sound system made me feel as if I were right there in the Freeling's house, battling those terrifying ghostly entities.
One Easter egg I discovered during this screening was a reference to another classic horror film, The Exorcist. As Carol Ann is being drawn into the TV set, you can see a poster of Regan (played by Linda Blair) in the background, which is an homage to her possession and subsequent exorcism. I found this little nod to be both nostalgic and delightfully spooky.
As the movie unfolded, I was reminded once again why Poltergeist is considered a classic in the horror genre. The film expertly blends elements of supernatural horror with a heartwarming story about family and love, making it both terrifying and touching.
If you're a fan of classic horror films like me, then I highly recommend checking out Depford Cinema for their special screenings. They consistently provide an excellent viewing experience and the opportunity to revisit some of my favorite movies from years past. Plus, who knows – you might just discover a few hidden gems along the way!

Odeon Cinema

Cinema
Information & Booking/London Rd, Portsmouth PO2 0LZ, United Kingdom

GPS : 50.8160788, -1.0795469

Users reviews of Odeon Cinema Portsmouth UK

Cinemas & Theaters within entire Portsmouth UK region

Other stuff from Portsmouth UK:

Recently featured: