Which scenes from movies was shot in Downey ?

Which part of The Man in the Iron Mask was produced in Downey ?

by Wesley Chen

Going to cinema is not only a entertainment - it is a essence of social live in the Downey. People in Downey like to feel fear and choose horror movies like 'Jaws' or 'Halloween'. Except ArcLight Hollywood in the Downey you can find the following cinemas: Krikorian Premiere Theatres located 8200 3rd St, Downey, CA 90241, United States and Cinemark Baldwin Hills and XD which is 20.33 km from Krikorian Premiere Theatres.

Top horror movies by citizens of Downey

Special effectsStory / ScreenplayTotal
Dawn of the Dead486493979
Jeepers Creepers450460910
The Strangers420418838
Drag Me to Hell398396794
The Texas Chain Saw Massacre365390755
Total21192157

What other movies where filmed in Downey CA?

You can find here movies like "Halloween", "Criminal Origins", 'The Exorcist', 'The Mummy' and 'Dracula' on the main street alley in a special remastered version.

They put together a film screening series and it is a good experience to watch the movie with your loved ones. They even put together a special program for people who go to a film screening, to talk about movies with strangers.The Downey is the place where I met my wife and I was happy when we moved in.

For two years now we've tried to live in the Downey by moving to the neighboring town, where my husband had the same business as I. Then we moved to Santa Monica and I had to choose another company. Now I'm in love with Downey. It's a beautiful and quiet village, but not far from Hollywood where I work as a director for a local film company.

It has the same feeling as Hollywood in our minds.I want to thank everyone, who have been helpful during this transition. It's been very difficult for me to be honest with you.

I've been in this situation a few times where people will not tell you anything because they are afraid you will leave them and go to Hollywood, and they will tell a friend, who will not tell anyone.

This happens all the time for me. So I don't want to go into details, so I'd like to tell everyone I know to ask me what I'm doing here. I want to give everyone a clear idea of what I'm doing here, because I can't explain things to you.

I feel like I can't explain myself because you are afraid that this is what I'm going to end up doing. It will make you sad if you know that your partner won't tell you anything either. It's a very difficult situation, but I'm ready to go through it again and again and come out the other side with everything you have.I'm grateful to Wesley Chen and everybody else.

Will next season of Doctor Who be filmed in Downey?

The first episode of Doctor Who in 2023 was a massive success. It's no coincidence that it became the highest-rated episode of the season, and the biggest hit of the year. There's much more to Doctor Who that makes it even better. Doctor Who has always been a science fiction show in its own right. Originally a series of short stories that followed a companion (Travis Hoare), the first series also featured this new actress but I can not remember her name.

Frequently Asked Questions:

Can you please tell me the exact showtimes for the next screening of "Tenet" at your theatre?

Certainly! Here are the showtimes for "Tenet" at our theatre on Saturday, October 24th. Please keep in mind that these times may change due to various factors, so it's always a good idea to double-check with us or another reliable source before heading out:
- 1:00 PM
- 3:50 PM
- 6:40 PM
- 9:20 PM
I hope this helps! If you have any further questions, please don't hesitate to ask.

Which classic film directed by Stanley Kubrick has been screened at Cinemark Downy multiple times throughout the years?

The classic film directed by Stanley Kubrick that has been screened at Cinemark Downy multiple times throughout the years is "2001: A Space Odyssey" (1968).

Can you please tell me about any upcoming special events or premieres happening at the ArcLight Hollywood cinema?

Unfortunately, as of my last update on January 20, 2021, ArcLight Hollywood is temporarily closed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. However, once they reopen, they often host a variety of special events and premieres such as film festivals, Q&A sessions with directors or actors, and exclusive screenings of highly anticipated movies. You can check their website or follow them on social media for updates on upcoming events.

Recommended places in Downey

Downey Cinema 10

Cinema
8200 3rd St, Downey, CA 90241, United States

GPS : 33.9422273, -118.1332993

Users reviews of Downey Cinema 10 Downey

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-02-16 by Melody Bowers

Melody arrived at the Downey Cinema 10 in a quirky fashion, donning her favorite bright purple cowboy boots and a flowy sunflower-printed dress, but as she walked inside, she couldn't help feeling a sense of mild excitement for what film adventures lay ahead. Although not overwhelmingly impressed with the theater itself, Melody was moderately pleased with her experience, laughing at memories of past adventures in pursuit of the perfect movie moment.

Krikorian Premiere Theatres

Cinema
8200 3rd St, Downey, CA 90241, United States

GPS : 33.9422629, -118.133302

Users reviews of Krikorian Premiere Theatres Downey

Cinemark Downey and XD

Cinema
8840 Apollo Way, Downey, CA 90242, United States

GPS : 33.9210341, -118.1316786

Users reviews of Cinemark Downey and XD Downey

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2024-02-13 by Stephen Bennett

Oh boy, CinemaDowney XD was a blast back in the day when my lover and I caught that swashbuckling flick; the audio was so loud it felt like we were onboard a pirate ship, but hey, who needs hearing after 40? The video quality was top-notch, making me feel like a real buccaneer. Sadly, the place looks like it's been hit by a hurricane of popcorn and soda since then, but kudos to the staff for still being as charming as Blackbeard himself. Extra services? Let's just say they've upped their game from swinging from chandeliers to offering 3D glasses that make you feel like you're part of the action - or at least, part of the mess when someone spills their drink.

Street Food Cinema

Cinema
1617 Colorado Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90041, United States

GPS : 34.1397499, -118.2016567

Users reviews of Street Food Cinema Downey

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-07-20 by James

Experience trendy vibes and diverse eats at LA's Street Food Cinema on Colorado Blvd after work. This venue offers striking design, captivating displays, and famous flicks. Security efficiently handles disputes. Top-notch entertainment, street food, and a stunning atmosphere make this the ultimate urban escape!

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2023-09-02 by Bryson Mason

While I can understand why James had an enjoyable experience at Street Food Cinema, there are some aspects that I believe need to be addressed in order to provide a well-rounded review. Although the venue offers a beautiful outdoor setting with fairy lights and colorful lanterns, it may not cater to those who prefer indoor screenings or have concerns about weather conditions affecting their experience. Additionally, while the food trucks offer a wide variety of street foods from different cultures and cuisines, there might be patrons who have dietary restrictions or allergies that limit their choices.
Moreover, although James mentioned that Street Food Cinema has live performances before the movie starts, it is essential to note that these performances may not always align with everyone's taste in music or entertainment. This could potentially lead to some guests feeling disappointed if they do not enjoy the performance.
Furthermore, while the security team did a commendable job handling the altercation between two patrons, it is crucial to acknowledge that incidents like these can happen anywhere and should not be used as a sole determining factor for whether or not someone should visit Street Food Cinema. It is essential to consider other factors such as accessibility, parking, and overall crowd control when evaluating an event's safety measures.
Lastly, although James highly recommends Street Food Cinema based on his positive experience, it is essential to remember that everyone has different preferences when it comes to entertainment venues. Some people may prefer more traditional movie theaters with comfortable seating and state-of-the-art sound systems, while others might appreciate the unique atmosphere and food options offered by Street Food Cinema.
In conclusion, while I can see why James enjoyed his time at Street Food Cinema, it is essential to consider various aspects before making a decision about whether or not this venue is right for you. It is crucial to weigh the pros and cons of attending an event that combines outdoor screenings, live performances, and street food offerings in order to determine if it aligns with your personal preferences and expectations.

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2023-09-24 by Harper

While I understand Bryson Mason's concerns about Street Food Cinema, I believe there are several reasons why this unique entertainment venue deserves positive reviews. Firstly, the outdoor setting with fairy lights and colorful lanterns creates a charming atmosphere that is perfect for an evening out. Additionally, while it may be true that some patrons have dietary restrictions or allergies, Street Food Cinema offers a wide variety of options from different cultures and cuisines, catering to most tastes.
Moreover, the live performances before the movie starts add an extra layer of entertainment and excitement to the event, even if not everyone might enjoy every performance. It is also important to note that incidents like altercations between patrons can happen anywhere, and Street Food Cinema has a commendable security team in place to handle such situations.
Lastly, while some people may prefer traditional movie theaters with comfortable seatings and state-of-the-art sound systems, others might appreciate the unique atmosphere and food options offered by Street Food Cinema. The combination of outdoor screening, live performances, and street food offering creates a memorable experience that cannot be replicated in a conventional theater setting.
In conclusion, while it is true that not everyone may enjoy Street Food Cinema, those who do appreciate its unique atmosphere, food options, and entertainment value will have a great time at this venue. It offers a refreshing change from traditional movie theaters and caters to people who want to experience something different while enjoying their favorite films.

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2023-09-30 by River

I respect Bryson Mason's point of view on Street Food Cinema but I have a different perspective based on my experience and research. Firstly, the beautiful outdoor setting is one of the key aspects that makes this event unique and enjoyable for many people who prefer an alternative to traditional movie theater settings. The fairy lights and colorful lanterns create a festive atmosphere that complements the movie screening experience. Additionally, the weather conditions can be managed by providing clear instructions on what to bring or wear (e.g., blankets, comfortable shoes, etc.) for guests who are concerned about possible discomfort due to unpredictable weather patterns.
Regarding food options, while it is true that some patrons might have dietary restrictions or allergies, Street Food Cinema caters to diverse taste buds with a variety of street foods from different cultures and cuisines. They also provide information on ingredients used in each dish, allowing guests to make informed decisions about their food choices. Moreover, the live performances before the movie starts add an extra layer of entertainment value that enhances the overall experience for most attendees.
In terms of safety measures, it is crucial to acknowledge that incidents like altercations between patrons can occur at any event or public gathering. However, Street Food Cinema has implemented robust security protocols and trained staff members who are equipped to handle such situations effectively. Furthermore, the venue offers ample parking space and accessible entrances for people with disabilities, ensuring a comfortable experience for all guests.
Finally, I believe that everyone's preferences when it comes to entertainment venues vary greatly. Some may prefer traditional movie theaters, while others appreciate the unique atmosphere and food options offered by Street Food Cinema. It is essential to consider individual tastes and expectations when choosing an event or venue that suits one's personal preferences. In conclusion, based on my experience and research, I strongly recommend attending Street Food Cinema for its charming outdoor setting, diverse food offerings, live performances, and robust safety measures.

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-10-08 by Gemma

While I understand the enthusiasm expressed by Harper for Street Food Cinema, there are several reasons why this unique entertainment venue deserves critical reviews. Firstly, the outdoor setting with fairy lights and colorful lanterns might create a charming atmosphere for some people, but it also exposes patrons to unpredictable weather conditions such as rain or extreme heat. This can significantly affect the overall experience of watching a movie outdoors.
Secondly, while Street Food Cinema offers a wide variety of food options from different cultures and cuisines, it is not catering adequately to those with dietary restrictions or allergies. In some instances, patrons have reported limited choices for vegans or individuals with gluten intolerance, which can be frustrating for them.
Additionally, although live performances before the movie starts add an extra layer of entertainment and excitement, they are not always enjoyable for everyone. Some people may prefer a quiet environment to enjoy their favorite films without any distractions.
Furthermore, incidents like altercations between patrons can indeed happen anywhere; however, it is concerning that Street Food Cinema has had several reports of such incidents in the past. This raises questions about the security measures in place and how effectively they are being implemented.
Lastly, while some people might appreciate the unique atmosphere offered by Street Food Cinema, others may feel uncomfortable or inconvenienced due to factors like noise levels, limited seating arrangements, and lack of proper facilities such as restrooms.
In conclusion, while it is true that Street Food Cinema offers a refreshing change from traditional movie theater settings, it also has its share of drawbacks that can significantly impact the overall experience for some patrons. Therefore, it would be unfair to label this venue as an unquestionable success without considering these aspects.

Cinemark

Cinema
20700 S Avalon Blvd #285, Carson, CA 90746, United States

GPS : 33.8448476, -118.2614573

Users reviews of Cinemark Downey

ArcLight Hollywood

Cinema
6360 Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90028, United States

GPS : 34.0975882, -118.3280479

Users reviews of ArcLight Hollywood Downey

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-07-13 by Thea Henderson

When I visited ArcLight Hollywood located at Sunset Boulevard, one of the famous streets in Los Angeles, California, I was amazed by its state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious ambiance. This movie theater is nestled right in the heart of Hollywood, just a short drive from iconic landmarks like the Walk of Fame and the Dolby Theatre where the Oscars take place.

The moment I walked through the doors of ArcLight Hollywood, I felt like I stepped into another world - one where every detail was designed with moviegoers in mind. The theater boasts 12 state-of-the-art auditoriums equipped with digital projection systems and crystal-clear sound technology that create an immersive experience for audiences of all ages.

One thing that sets ArcLight Hollywood apart from other cinemas is its commitment to maintaining a comfortable and relaxing environment for guests. Each seat in the theater comes with a personal side table, perfect for holding snacks or drinks while enjoying a movie. Plus, there's no need to worry about getting up during the film to buy refreshments – ArcLight offers an in-seat service where staff members take orders right from your chair!

Of course, no visit to a cinema would be complete without indulging in some delicious treats. At ArcLight Hollywood, foodies can choose from a wide range of options at their on-site café, which serves everything from gourmet popcorn and specialty sandwiches to artisanal ice cream and fine wines.

People love visiting ArcLight Hollywood because it offers more than just a typical moviegoing experience. It's a place where fans can immerse themselves in the world of cinema, enjoy top-notch service, and create lasting memories with friends and family. Whether you're catching the latest blockbuster or rewatching an all-time favorite film, there's no doubt that ArcLight Hollywood will leave you wanting to come back for more.

In conclusion, if you're ever in Los Angeles and looking for a unique cinematic adventure, be sure to check out ArcLight Hollywood on Sunset Boulevard. Trust me – it'll be an experience you won't forget!

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2023-07-16 by Skylar Hammond

While I can understand why Thea Henderson gave such high praise to ArcLight Hollywood, as someone who has had a different experience at this theater, I would like to present my opinion that contradicts hers.
Firstly, the location of ArcLight Hollywood is indeed impressive, situated right in the heart of Hollywood and close to iconic landmarks. However, the convenience factor may not be as beneficial for all visitors, especially those who do not live or work nearby. The high cost of parking in the area and the heavy traffic can make it a less appealing choice for some.
Regarding the state-of-the-art amenities and luxurious ambiance, I agree that they are impressive on paper. However, during my visit, I found the theater to be quite crowded, which took away from the overall comfort and relaxation that Thea mentioned. The in-seat service was also not as efficient as one would hope, leading to long waiting times for refreshments.
Furthermore, while it is true that ArcLight Hollywood offers a wide range of food options at their on-site café, I found the prices to be quite expensive compared to other cinemas. Additionally, the selection was not as diverse as one would expect from such a high-end establishment.
Lastly, while ArcLight Hollywood does offer an immersive experience with its digital projection systems and crystal-clear sound technology, it is important to note that this comes at a cost. Ticket prices are significantly higher than those of other local cinemas, making it less accessible for some moviegoers.
In conclusion, while ArcLight Hollywood certainly has its perks, such as its prime location and luxurious ambiance, I believe that the high prices and crowded atmosphere make it less appealing to many potential visitors. For those who are willing to spend extra money for a more upscale experience, however, ArcLight Hollywood may be worth considering.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2023-07-30 by Myles Hale

While Thea Henderson had a positive experience at ArcLight Hollywood, I believe that the theater falls short in certain aspects and does not meet everyone's expectations for an ideal moviegoing experience.
Firstly, although the theater boasts state-of-the-art technology and luxurious amenities, the high ticket prices may deter some potential visitors from attending movies at ArcLight Hollywood. Additionally, the in-seat service can be slow during busy hours, leading to longer wait times for food and drinks.
Furthermore, while the theater offers a wide range of food options, many customers have reported that the prices are significantly higher than what they would expect to pay for similar items at other establishments. This may disappoint those who were looking forward to indulging in some delicious treats without breaking the bank.
Moreover, despite ArcLight Hollywood's commitment to maintaining a comfortable and relaxing environment, there have been instances of noisy patrons disrupting the movie-watching experience for others. The theater could improve its customer service by addressing these issues promptly and ensuring that all guests enjoy a peaceful and enjoyable screening.
In conclusion, while ArcLight Hollywood offers some unique features such as in-seat service and personal side tables, it is essential to consider the potential drawbacks before deciding whether or not this cinema lives up to its reputation as a premier movie theater experience.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-01-21 by Adelyn

I had the pleasure of visiting ArcLight Hollywood during my time off last month, and let me tell you - it was an absolute treat! As a service worker at this remarkable cinema, I can confidently say that I've never experienced such a breathtaking movie-going environment.

Located on Sunset Boulevard in the heart of Los Angeles, ArcLight Hollywood is easy to find and just as easy to fall in love with. The moment you step inside, you are greeted by a stunning lobby filled with warm lights, plush seating areas, and an array of snacks that will surely satisfy your cravings before or after the show.

The cinema boasts twelve state-of-the-art auditoriums equipped with cutting-edge projection technology, ensuring every moviegoer enjoys crisp visuals and immersive sound quality throughout their film experience. Plus, their reclining seats are incredibly comfortable - perfect for those marathon sessions where you want to catch multiple screenings without feeling too tired.

One standout feature of ArcLight Hollywood is the Dine-In Theaters, which allows guests to order food and drinks directly from their seats while watching a movie. It's the ultimate luxury experience, especially if you prefer not to miss a single moment of the film! Their menu offers an impressive selection of gourmet options, including wood-fired pizzas, artisanal sandwiches, and even sushi - all freshly prepared by their talented culinary team.

Another aspect that sets ArcLight Hollywood apart from other cinemas is its commitment to providing guests with a diverse selection of films. They showcase both mainstream blockbusters and independent movies, ensuring there's something for everyone in the family. Plus, their calendar of special events like director Q&As, film festivals, and themed screenings provides movie lovers with opportunities to connect with fellow cinephiles and share their passion for cinema.

Lastly, I must commend the staff at ArcLight Hollywood for providing exceptional service during my visit. From the friendly ticket-takers at the entrance to the knowledgeable concession attendants who recommended delicious treats based on my preferences, each employee went above and beyond to create a memorable experience for me as a customer.

In conclusion, if you're looking for an unparalleled movie-going adventure, look no further than ArcLight Hollywood. With its stunning location, state-of-the-art amenities, diverse film offerings, and impeccable customer service, this cinematic gem truly lives up to its reputation as a premier destination for movie lovers everywhere. I can't wait to go back again soon!

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-17 by Reese Byrd

The enigmatic aura of intrigue and uncertainty envelops this medium-length review of ArcLight Hollywood as I present a contrasting viewpoint to Myles Hale's opinion, rated by 3. While Thea Henderson's positive experience at ArcLight Hollywood is commendable, I question its ability to cater to the diverse moviegoers' preferences and expectations.

ArcLight Hollywood boasts cutting-edge technology and lavish amenities; however, this theater does not account for the financial limitations that many moviegoers face. With exorbitant ticket prices, some might find it inaccessible or choose alternative cinema options with more affordable rates. Although the in-seat service is a unique selling point, it can prove to be a disadvantage during peak hours as customers often experience longer wait times for food and drinks.

Furthermore, despite offering a plethora of food choices, ArcLight Hollywood's exorbitant prices may leave moviegoers feeling disappointed, especially when compared to other establishments. This factor not only adds to the overall inconvenience but also detracts from the immersive movie-watching experience that many customers seek at theaters.

While ArcLight Hollywood prides itself on maintaining a comfortable and soothing environment, this theater occasionally grapples with noisy patrons who disrupt the tranquil atmosphere for other guests. By addressing these concerns promptly and ensuring that all visitors enjoy a peaceful screening, the theater can improve its customer service to enhance the overall experience.

In conclusion, it is crucial to weigh the advantages and disadvantages before deciding whether ArcLight Hollywood aligns with one's expectations for an ideal movie theater experience. While state-of-the-art technology, luxurious amenities, and a variety of food options are undeniably enticing features, they might not be enough to compensate for the potential drawbacks experienced by various patrons.

Cinemark At the Pike

Cinema
99 Pine Ave, Long Beach, CA 90802, United States

GPS : 33.7644726, -118.1933138

Users reviews of Cinemark At the Pike Downey

AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX, Los Angeles

Cinema
100 Universal City Plaza, Universal City, CA 91608, United States

GPS : 34.1371163, -118.352547

Users reviews of AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX, Los Angeles Downey

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-02-04 by Lucy

As a loyal moviegoer and married wife to Francisco Mayo, I have always been on the lookout for the perfect cinema experience. After trying out several movie theaters in Los Angeles, we finally stumbled upon AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX at 100 Universal City Plaza, Universal City, CA 91608, United States. What a delightful surprise it turned out to be!
The moment you step foot into this cinema paradise, you are greeted by the warm and inviting staff who are always ready with a smile and a friendly welcome. Their appearance exudes professionalism and their behavior is impeccably polite and courteous. The customer service here goes beyond expectations as they make sure to guide you through every step of your movie experience.
One particularly memorable incident involved a small mix-up with our seats. We had reserved the front row, but upon arrival, we realized that the IMAX screen was in an entirely different auditorium. The staff at AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX took this minor inconvenience in their stride and promptly assisted us to our correct seats without any fuss or complaints. Their ability to handle such situations with grace and efficiency truly made our experience here a memorable one.
But what about the journey to this cinema gem, you may ask? Well, my husband Francisco and I decided to make an exciting day out of it by starting from Inglewood. We visited the famous Point Dume in the morning, taking in the breathtaking ocean views and walking along the cliffside trails. This was a fantastic way to unwind before our movie marathon began!
The drive from Point Dume to AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX is approximately 45 minutes depending on traffic. The route takes you through the scenic Pacific Coast Highway, which offers stunning views of the ocean and charming coastal towns. We passed by the historic Santa Monica Pier, where we took a quick break to enjoy some ice cream before continuing our journey.
The atmosphere at AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX is truly electrifying, with state-of-the-art technology and an extensive selection of films to choose from. The massive IMAX screen immerses you in the movie experience like no other cinema can. And let's not forget about the delicious popcorn and snacks available at their concession stand!
In conclusion, AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX is an exceptional cinema experience that should be on every movie lover's bucket list. From the welcoming staff to the fantastic journey from Inglewood, this cinema offers a unique blend of entertainment and comfort. So grab your popcorn, snuggle up with your loved one, and let yourself be transported into a world of magic and wonder at AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX!

Rating: 2/5 reviewed: 2024-02-22 by Gavin

Despite Lucy's glowing review of AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX, my nostalgic heart cannot help but yearn for the simpler days of moviegoing. In contrast to Lucy's modern adventure, I remember fondly the days when a trip to the cinema was a more low-key affair.
The staff at this megaplex may be friendly and accommodating, but there is something undeniably soulless about their efficiency. Gone are the days of quirky, eccentric ushers who would make you feel like royalty as they led you to your seat. Instead, we now have robotic attendants who seem more interested in their next appointment than engaging with their guests.
Moreover, Lucy's scenic drive to the theater seems almost extravagant compared to my own humble journey. I used to live only a stone's throw away from my local cinema, and the highlight of my moviegoing experience was simply the anticipation of entering that dark, cool sanctuary.
It is true that AMC Universal City Walk 19 IMAX boasts impressive technology and an extensive selection of films. However, these advances cannot replace the charm and nostalgia of a more humble cinema experience. For me, the magic of movies lies not in their size or technological prowess, but in the simple joy of losing yourself in a story.
Therefore, while Lucy revels in her modern moviegoing adventure, I will continue to cherish the memories of simpler times when the cinema was a place of escape and wonder, unburdened by the trappings of modern efficiency.

Cinemark Xd

Cinema
6081 Center Dr, Los Angeles, CA 90045, United States

GPS : 33.9779107, -118.3918217

Users reviews of Cinemark Xd Downey

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2023-10-25 by Arielle Morton

Last summer, my beloved wife and I went to CinemarXD in Downy for a much-needed break from our stressful lives. We had high hopes that this cinema would offer the perfect experience for our movie date. Little did we know that we were about to be subjected to an absolute nightmare of mediocrity and shoddy service.
To begin with, the appearance of CinemarXD left much to be desired. The lobby was dimly lit and had a dated, worn-out feel to it. The floor was sticky, and there were cigarette butts scattered around the seating area. It felt like we had entered a time machine that transported us back to the 90s.
As we entered the theater for our movie, we were horrified to find that the seats were old, worn out, and uncomfortable. The armrests were broken, and there was no space between them which made it impossible for two people to sit side by side without touching each other. This is especially important when you consider that this cinema is charging a premium price for tickets.
The audio quality in the theater was abysmal. The sound system was outdated, and the speakers were barely audible even at full volume. We found ourselves constantly adjusting the volume on our seats to try and hear the movie dialogue over the background noise. This took away from our overall experience of being immersed in the film's world.
The video quality was slightly better than the audio, but it still left a lot to be desired. The picture was grainy, and there were noticeable artifacts throughout the screening. It seemed like the projectionist had not properly calibrated the projector before starting the movie, causing inconsistent brightness levels and color saturation.
To make matters worse, the staff at CinemarXD were unfriendly and unhelpful. When we tried to ask for assistance with our seats or any other issues during the film, they dismissed us as if we were bothering them. Their attitude only added to the overall frustration of what was supposed to be a fun night out with my wife.
In addition to these issues, CinemarXD offered very limited extra services. There was no proper food and drink selection available in the theater, and the concession stand was closed for most of our visit. This forced us to leave the cinema during the movie to find somewhere else to eat, further ruining what little enjoyment we were able to muster from our experience.
Overall, CinemarXD in Downy is a disgraceful example of what a modern cinema should be. With its shoddy appearance, terrible audio and video quality, unhelpful staff, and limited extra services, it's no wonder that this place has fallen behind its competitors in the area. I sincerely hope that they take this review to heart and make significant improvements before more unsuspecting customers fall victim to their subpar experience.

Cinemark Baldwin Hills and XD

Cinema
4020 Marlton Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90008, United States

GPS : 34.0115585, -118.3374002

Users reviews of Cinemark Baldwin Hills and XD Downey

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2023-04-12 by Charlie

I was initially excited about CinemaRark Baldwin Hills XD in Downey, as I had heard rave reviews from my colleagues at work. They had mentioned the great sound quality and immersive experience that this cinema provided. But boy, was I sorely disappointed!
As soon as we entered the premises, it became apparent that there were some serious issues with the place. First off, the parking lot was a complete mess - cars parked haphazardly, with no clear sense of order or direction. It felt like navigating through a maze just to find a spot!
Once inside, the chaos continued. The lines for tickets and concessions were absurdly long, with people packed together like sardines in a can. I had to wait for an eternity before I could finally get my hands on some overpriced popcorn and a drink.
The staff, or rather the lack thereof, was another major issue. It felt like we were abandoned in a sea of faceless employees who couldn't care less about their jobs. When we asked for assistance with our seats, we were met with indifference and dismissal - as if we were bothering them by asking for help!
And then there was the theater itself. Oh, the horror! The seats were uncomfortable beyond belief - hard, unyielding things that left us feeling like we had been sitting on rocks for hours. And don't even get me started on the audio and video quality. While I did appreciate the large screen and high-definition visuals, the sound system was nothing short of atrocious. The dialogue was often drowned out by the overpowering bass, making it difficult to follow along with the plot.
Now let's talk about those infamous XD seats. They were supposedly designed for maximum comfort and immersion, but they failed miserably. Instead of feeling like we were part of the movie, we spent most of our time trying to adjust the flimsy recliners that kept sliding back into their original position.
Overall, my experience at CinemaRark Baldwin Hills XD was nothing short of disastrous. From the chaotic environment to the lackluster service and subpar amenities, it's safe to say that this cinema will not be receiving any repeat visits from me anytime soon. If you're looking for a truly enjoyable cinematic experience, I highly recommend steering clear of this place and seeking out better options in town.

Island Cinema

Cinema
999 Newport Center Dr, Newport Beach, CA 92660, United States

GPS : 33.6163794, -117.876686

Users reviews of Island Cinema Downey

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-02-26 by Melody

As I take a seat in the dimly lit auditorium of Island Cinema, memories flood my mind. It's been years since my friend and I last graced these hallowed halls, our hearts pounding with excitement as we waited for the opening credits to roll. How time flies - it seems like yesterday that we were here, enveloped in a world of explosions, thrills, and suspense.

The cinema itself is an exercise in nostalgia. The seats, once plush and inviting, now show signs of wear and tear, the fabric frayed and threadbare in places. But this only adds to the charm - it's as if time has stood still here, preserving a piece of our childhood for us to revisit whenever we need a moment of reflection.

The screen itself is a sight to behold, its rich hues and vivid images capturing my attention from the opening frames. The audio, too, is crisp and clear - I can hear every whisper, every explosion, every heartbeat with bone-rattling clarity. It's as if the world outside has fallen away, leaving me and the screen in a cocoon of sensory immersion.

But it's not just about the technical aspects - there's something intangible here that draws me back time and time again. Maybe it's the memories I associate with this place, the laughter and the tears we shared during those long-ago nights. Or maybe it's the feeling of community, as we all sit here, lost in the same world for a few precious moments. Whatever it is, it's something I can't quite put my finger on - but it's there, lurking just beneath the surface.

The staff, too, are a source of comfort and familiarity. The ushers, their faces etched with lines that speak of a life spent serving others, greet me with a smile as I shuffle past them to my seat. They're like guardians of this space, watching over it with the same care and affection they would afford an old friend.

As for extra services, well - there aren't many. The concession stand offers the usual suspects - popcorn, candy, soda - but they come at a steep price. It's as if the management knows that we're willing to pay top dollar for these little luxuries, and so they milk us for every last penny. But I can forgive them this - it's all part of the experience, after all.

As the lights dim once more and the previews begin to roll, I close my eyes and sink into my seat. This is where I belong - here, in this cinema, surrounded by memories both new and old. And as I watch the screen come alive before me, I can't help but feel a little sadness, a little nostalgia. For how long can a place like this exist, unchanged and untouched by time? How many more trips around the sun will it take before the world outside encroaches upon this sacred space?

I don't know the answer to these questions - but I do know that I'll be back here, again and again. Because there's something here that speaks to a deeper part of me, a place where memories and dreams intersect. And as long as Island Cinema continues to exist, I'll be here, watching the world go by from my seat in the dark.

Cinemas & Theaters within entire Downey region

Other stuff from Downey:

Recently featured: