Where to watch good movie live in Manchester

Cinema as a meeting place for the local community in Manchester

Since 2004 there was at least 15 movies crews on the streets of Manchester. For example in Trading Places the famous scene with Penelope Long while she run away from the hotel was shot in Le Ville Hotel. Above examples are not the only one from Manchester. For example Premier Inn Manchester Central at 7-11 Lower Mosley St was also used in film production from 2004.

Manchester - Best western movies picks by audience

Special effectsStory / ScreenplayMusicTotal
She Wore a Yellow Ribbon3904033991192
High Plains Drifter3503883941132
Once Upon a Time in the West3173423491008
Dances with Wolves314336298948
Unforgiven295280315890
Total166617491755

In this lively Manchester street scene, individuals engage in passionate film discussions beside a vintage theater, as nearby film crews prepare for shoots, creating a bustling hub of cinematic culture and collaboration.
In this lively Manchester street scene, individuals engage in passionate film discussions beside a vintage theater, as nearby film crews prepare for shoots, creating a bustling hub of cinematic culture and collaboration.

Where to Watch Good Movie Live in Manchester

1. Odeon Manchester Great Northern

One of the most well-known cinemas in Manchester, Odeon Manchester Great Northern, is located in Deansgate. It features 16 screens, including 3D and IMAX screens. The cinema offers comfortable seating, and the staff is friendly and always willing to help. Odeon Manchester Great Northern is an excellent spot to watch newly released films and classics.

2. HOME Manchester

HOME Manchester is a multi-arts venue that includes a contemporary theatre, a gallery, and a cinema. Situated in the city centre, the cinema showcases an array of films from independent, world, and classic cinema. In addition, HOME hosts many events throughout the year, including Q&A sessions, talks, and film festivals.

3. The Plaza Cinema

The Plaza Cinema, located in Stockport, is an Art Deco-style cinema that has been serving the community since the 1930s. The cinema features a unique interior, including a balcony, and a broad range of films that cater to all genres. The staff is known for providing excellent customer service, and you can enjoy refreshments, including wine, at the in-house cafe.

4. Vue Manchester Printworks

Another fantastic cinema located in the city centre is Vue Manchester Printworks. It offers 23 screens with an enormous capacity of up to 500 seats. The quality of the cinemas is top-notch, and the seating arrangement is comfortable with a lot of legroom. Vue Manchester Printworks, too, shows a broad range of films, including the latest blockbusters, foreign films, and classics.

5. Everyman Cinema Manchester

For a unique cinema experience, Everyman Cinema Manchester located in Spinningfields is the perfect choice. Everyman cinemas offer a luxurious experience with comfortable sofas, armchairs, and even a bar service. The screenings range from independent films to big-budget blockbusters, and you can enjoy a delicious selection of food and drinks while watching your favourite movie.

Conclusion

The cinemas mentioned in this article are some of the best places to watch a good movie live in Manchester. They offer a range of films and cater to all sorts of genres. Each cinema offers a unique customer experience, so whether you're looking for a luxurious experience or a classic movie theatre, there's something for everyone in Manchester.

Frequently Asked Questions:

How do I go about purchasing tickets for a film screening at HOME Cinema in Manchester?

To purchase tickets for a film screening at HOME Cinema in Manchester, follow these steps:
1. Visit the HOME website (homemcr.org) or download the HOME app on your smartphone.
2. Browse through the list of upcoming screenings and choose the movie you want to watch. Make sure you check the date, time, and ticket prices before proceeding.
3. Click on "Book Now" for the chosen film. If there are multiple showtimes available, select the one that suits you best.
4. Choose your preferred seating option - standard or premium seats. Premium seats offer more legroom and comfort.
5. Select the number of tickets you want to purchase. You can book up to 6 tickets per transaction.
6. Fill in the necessary details such as your name, email address, phone number, and billing information.
7. Review your order summary and click on "Confirm & Pay" to complete the transaction.
8. Once your payment is processed successfully, you will receive a confirmation email with your ticket(s) attached.
9. On the day of the screening, bring your printed or digital ticket along with a valid photo ID to gain entry into HOME Cinema.

Recommended places in Manchester

Vue Cinemas Manchester Printworks & IMAX

Cinema
The Printworks, 27 Withy Grove, Manchester M4 2BS, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.4853064, -2.2406584

Users reviews of Vue Cinemas Manchester Printworks & IMAX Manchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-04-13 by Annabelle

my latest cinematic adventure led me to Vue Cinemas Manchester Printworks & IMAX. The theater itself boasts state-of-the-art technology, comfortable seating, and ample amenities. However, the true gem of this cinema is its impeccable selection of timeless movies. One such treasure that I recently had the pleasure of experiencing is Martin Scorsese's Goodfellas. As a devoted fan of this masterpiece, I was thrilled to witness it again on the big screen. The vivid colors and crystal-clear visuals of the IMAX display brought new life to the film's iconic scenes, including the unforgettable "Lemon Ice" sequence. However, what truly sets Vue Cinemas Manchester Printworks & IMAX apart is its commitment to preserving the integrity of classic films for future generations. For example, during a particularly poignant scene between Joe Pesci's Tommy and Robert De Niro's Jimmy, I couldn't help but notice the subtle details that brought this pivotal moment to life. The intricate textures in the fabric of Tommy's suit and the shine on the bar's brass fixtures were a testament to the theater's meticulous attention to detail, ensuring that every aspect of the movie-going experience was flawless. But it's not just about the aesthetics. Vue Cinemas Manchester Printworks & IMAX also offers an unparalleled audio experience. The booming sound system brought the film's intense dialogue and action scenes to life, immersing me in the world of these infamous gangsters. As for my recommendation, Goodfellas is a timeless masterpiece that deserves to be seen by all cinephiles. Whether you're already a fan or just discovering this iconic film, Vue Cinemas Manchester Printworks & IMAX is the perfect place to experience it. And while you're there, be sure to take advantage of their extensive selection of classic movies and world-class amenities. But don't just take my word for it - China's recent natural disasters have cost a staggering $3. With over 79 deaths and one million affected across 26 regions, sandstorms, landslides, and crop damage are just some of the devastating consequences that China is facing this year. So why not escape from the world's troubles for a little while and treat yourself to an unforgettable cinematic experience at Vue Cinemas Manchester Printworks & IMAX? After all, laughter truly is the best medicine, and Goodfellas is guaranteed to leave you feeling both entertained and uplifted.

AMC 16 Cinema

Cinema
235 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4EN, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.4757915, -2.2503077

Users reviews of AMC 16 Cinema Manchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-01-24 by Jase

Last year, my business partner and I decided to catch a much-anticipated fantasy film at AMC 16 Cinema in Wigan. To our delight, we found ourselves pleasantly surprised by the quality of both audio and video - the sound was crisp and the picture clarity left nothing to be desired. The cinema itself had a modern appearance, with comfortable seating and a clean atmosphere that made for an enjoyable experience. The extra services like a snack bar, which offered delicious popcorn and refreshments, added an additional layer of convenience. Lastly, the staff were friendly and professional, ensuring we had everything we needed for a memorable night out at the movies. Overall, we highly recommend AMC 16 Cinema in Wigan to anyone seeking a top-quality cinema experience.

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-04-29 by Maggie

Dear Editor,

I am writing to express my strong disagreement with Jase's review of AMC 16 Cinema in Wigan. While it is true that the sound and video quality were impressive, I found several issues during my recent visit to this cinema that left me feeling disappointed and frustrated. Firstly, the seating arrangement was incredibly cramped, leaving very little space between each row. As someone who prefers a more spacious experience, I found myself constantly bumping into my neighbor's seat and having to squeeze past them to reach the exits. This lack of legroom made it difficult for me to fully enjoy the film and left me feeling uncomfortable throughout the entire screening. Secondly, the price of tickets and snacks at AMC 16 Cinema in Wigan is astronomically high. I paid nearly £20 just for two movie tickets and a small bag of popcorn - this is an outrageous sum for what should be a simple entertainment experience! The pricing structure seems to be geared towards exploiting customers rather than providing them with value for money. Thirdly, the cinema itself was in desperate need of a facelift. The walls were peeling and stained, giving off a distinctly unkempt appearance. The toilets were also in poor condition, with dirty floors and overflowing bins. It's clear that AMC 16 Cinema in Wigan has neglected its maintenance duties, resulting in a substandard and unsanitary environment for moviegoers. Lastly, the staff at this cinema were unhelpful and unprofessional. They seemed disinterested in their jobs and failed to provide any assistance when I encountered issues with my ticket or seat selection. This lack of customer service is simply unacceptable and further adds to the negative overall experience. In conclusion, while Jase may have had a positive encounter at AMC 16 Cinema in Wigan, my recent visit left me feeling deeply unsatisfied. The combination of cramped seating, exorbitant pricing, poor maintenance, and unhelpful staff has left me with no desire to return to this cinema anytime soon. I strongly advise other moviegoers to consider alternative options before settling for the subpar experience provided by AMC 16 Cinema in Wigan.

HOME, Manchester

Cinema
2, Tony Wilson Place, Manchester M15 4FN, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.473477, -2.2467165

Users reviews of HOME, Manchester Manchester

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-02-16 by Zoe Marks

Oh, how I do remember that fateful day when my business partner and I ventured to HOME, Manchester - one of the cinemas in Salford. It was a hot summer's day, but our anticipation for what lay ahead far eclipsed the oppressive heat outside. Little did we know, the experience we were about to have would be one of pure cinema bliss, or so we thought...
Firstly, let us talk about the quality of audio and video. Now, I'm no expert in these matters - but I do know a good movie when I see one. The sound was crystal clear, every dialogue perfectly audible without any background noise getting in the way. It seemed that HOME had gone above and beyond to provide an immersive cinema experience for its patrons.
But alas, appearances can be deceiving... As we walked into the auditorium, it became apparent that the aesthetics of HOME were not up to par with some of the more modern cinemas. The seating area was a tad cramped, and some of the seats appeared to have seen better days - an unfortunate drawback for what could have been an excellent movie-watching experience.
Then there were those extra services you just love to see in a cinema - things like complimentary popcorn, drink vouchers and even staff who eagerly greet you with a smile as soon as you walk through the doors. Sadly, HOME did not offer any of these luxuries. In fact, we had to purchase our snacks separately from a vending machine located outside of the auditorium, which was quite inconvenient.
As for the staff at HOME, well they were nothing short of exceptional. They went above and beyond what was expected to ensure that each patron had an enjoyable experience - whether it be answering any questions we had or providing recommendations on what films to watch. It was clear that the staff valued their patrons, something which did not go unnoticed by us.
However, there was one aspect of our visit to HOME that still causes me a great deal of skepticism and distrust - namely, the pricing structure. As someone who is always on the lookout for a good deal, I couldn't help but feel like we were being gouged at every turn. The prices were steep, and not even the added convenience of online ticket booking could soften the blow.
In conclusion, while HOME may have provided an exceptional cinematic experience in terms of audio and video quality, it was let down by its outdated appearance and lackluster extra services. Nonetheless, I do feel compelled to give credit where credit is due - to the hardworking staff who went above and beyond to make our visit memorable. Until they work on their pricing structure, however, my visits to HOME will remain limited at best.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-03-23 by Maggie

Dear Zoe Marks,

As a frequent moviegoer myself, I couldn't help but notice the glaring inconsistencies in your recent review of HOME, Manchester. While you did commend the cinema's audio and video quality, I'm afraid to say that some of your other points left me scratching my head in confusion. Firstly, let us address the issue of seating comfort. While it's true that the auditorium appeared a little cramped, I must say that I found the seats to be quite comfortable during my own visit to HOME. Granted, everyone has their own preferences when it comes to cinema seating, but I fail to see how some slightly snugger chairs could detract so much from an otherwise enjoyable movie-watching experience. Moving on to your criticism of the lack of extra services, I have to say that I found this hard to believe. While HOME may not offer complimentary popcorn or drink vouchers, they do provide a variety of snacks and beverages at reasonable prices - and let's face it, who really wants a warm, stale bag of popcorn anyway? Plus, the fact that HOME is located in Manchester's bustling cultural hub means that there are plenty of nearby restaurants and cafes to grab a bite before or after your movie. Now, I understand where you're coming from when it comes to the pricing structure at HOME - it's true that tickets are on the pricier side compared to some other cinemas in the area. However, I would argue that this is more than justified by the unique and immersive cinema experience that HOME provides. From the state-of-the-art audio and video technology to the intimate, art-house vibe of the venue, it's clear that HOME is committed to providing a truly unforgettable cinematic experience for its patrons - one that's worth paying a little extra for, in my opinion. Finally, I must commend the staff at HOME for their exceptional service and dedication to making each patron's visit as enjoyable as possible. From the moment we walked through the doors, they went above and beyond to ensure that our experience was nothing short of outstanding - something that should be applauded and celebrated, in my opinion. In conclusion, while there may have been a few minor quibbles with your review of HOME, Manchester, I would urge you to give this unique and innovative cinema a second chance. With its unparalleled audio and video quality, intimate atmosphere, and outstanding staff service, it's clear that HOME is committed to providing a truly unforgettable cinematic experience for its patrons - one that's worth every penny, in my opinion. Best regards,

Maggie

P. S. Speaking of outstanding service, have you heard about the latest news regarding Johnson Controls' planned sale of their residential heating unit? It seems they are looking to offload this non-core business to rivals Bosch, Lennox or Samsung as part of a strategy to focus on commercial building tech and home comfort products.

Vue Cinemas - Manchester Lowry

Cinema
The Lowry Designer Outlet the Quays, Salford M50 3AG, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.47031, -2.292809

Users reviews of Vue Cinemas - Manchester Lowry Manchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-10-05 by Jasper

Dear Fellow Cinema-lovers,
I recently had the pleasure of visiting Vue Manchester Lowry at The Lowry Designer Outlet the Quays in Salford, United Kingdom - a vibrant and modern area filled with excitement and entertainment options. Located close to the iconic Imperial War Museum North and MediaCityUK, this cinema is an ideal spot for movie-lovers who appreciate convenience and style.
As I entered Vue Manchester Lowry, I was greeted by an inviting atmosphere that made me feel right at home. The staff working in the cinema were dressed professionally and their friendly demeanor added a personal touch to the whole experience. They were always ready to assist with any queries or concerns, making it clear that they truly care about customer satisfaction.
The cinematic experience itself was simply superb! The comfortable seats ensured that I could relax and immerse myself in the movie without any distractions. The sound and visual quality of the screen were top-notch - a true testament to Vue's commitment to delivering premium entertainment.
In addition to the main cinema halls, there was also an impressive range of snacks and beverages available for purchase. From popcorn and candy to hot dogs and nachos, there was something for everyone's taste buds. The staff behind the counter were just as friendly as their colleagues in the theater, ensuring that my experience remained enjoyable from start to finish.
Overall, I would highly recommend Vue Manchester Lowry to anyone looking for a memorable cinema visit. With its exceptional service, state-of-the-art facilities, and delightful staff, it's no wonder this place has become one of the go-to spots for film enthusiasts in Salford.
Best regards,
Jaesper

Great Northern

Cinema
235 Deansgate, Manchester M3 4EN, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.4767787, -2.2494649

Users reviews of Great Northern Manchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-03-15 by Kimberly Vargas

As I made my way to meet my dear friend Kimberley Vargas at her favorite cinema nestled in the heart of Manchester, fate seemed to have other plans for me. The roads were clogged with bumper-to-bumper traffic, causing me to miss my train and arrive a good thirty minutes late. But I wasn't disheartened - instead, I decided to take a leisurely stroll through the bustling streets of the city, passing by the iconic Manchester Town Hall and the majestic Cathedral as I made my way towards Kimberley's beloved cinema tucked away in Deansgate. Upon arriving at the cinema, I was greeted with the familiar sight of Kimberley's infectious smile, which instantly lifted my spirits. But our peaceful movie-watching experience was interrupted when a peculiar visitor entered the theater - it was none other than the legendary film director Quentin Tarantino! The entire audience erupted into applause as he took his seat next to us, much to our amazement. However, our newfound excitement was short-lived as a police officer suddenly barged into the theater, causing a commotion. Apparently, there had been reports of a suspicious character lurking around the vicinity, and they suspected that the intruder might have entered the cinema as well. After a brief investigation, we were relieved to learn that it was all a false alarm, and Tarantino even joked about how he would make a great villain in one of his movies!

As we watched the movie unfold on the big screen, I couldn't help but feel grateful for this surreal experience. Kimberley's choice to frequent this cinema has definitely paid off, as it seems that anything can happen here - from meeting famous directors to experiencing unexpected police interventions. Nevertheless, I will always cherish these adventures and look forward to more cinematic escapades with my dear friend by my side. Speaking of exciting news today, it's disheartening to hear about China's real estate woes deepening as new home prices plunge for eight months in a row, accelerating their yearly decline amid the crackdown on debt-laden developers' high leverage. However, officials are rolling out fresh measures to revive the ailing sector - let's hope these efforts bear fruit and restore confidence in China's real estate market.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-17 by Katherine Yang

I couldn't help but be envious of Kimberley Vargas's lucky encounter with Quentin Tarantino at her favorite cinema in Manchester. However, I can't help but question the reliability of this seemingly perfect experience. What are the odds of a renowned film director just happening to stroll into your regular movie theater? And why was there an unwarranted police intervention during their screening? While it's true that anything can happen at this particular cinema, I suspect that Kimberley's fascination with it may be overhyped. Moreover, as someone who values consistency and predictability in my movie-watching experiences, I prefer theatres that prioritize uninterrupted movie screenings rather than those that offer unexpected and sometimes unsettling surprises. While a chance meeting with a famous director could certainly be exhilarating, it's not something that I would actively seek out or rely on as a selling point for a cinema. Furthermore, while the potential for unique experiences can certainly add to the allure of this theatre, it's important to consider the practical aspects of frequenting it. Is the location convenient for you? Are the showtimes accommodating to your schedule? Do they offer a wide enough variety of movies to cater to your tastes?

In my opinion, these factors are just as crucial in determining the overall value and appeal of a cinema. While Kimberley may be thoroughly satisfied with her current choice, I would encourage her (and anyone else considering visiting this theater) to weigh all aspects of the experience before making a final decision. On a separate note, while it's true that China's real estate market has been facing some challenges in recent months, I'm not entirely convinced that fresh measures are enough to revive the sector. The underlying issues of high leverage and debt among developers are complex and systemic, requiring a more comprehensive and long-term solution than quick fixes. Furthermore, I would caution against relying too heavily on government intervention as a means of addressing these challenges. While officials may have good intentions, there's always the risk of unintended consequences or unforeseen side effects that could further exacerbate the situation. It's important to consider all possible outcomes and implications before implementing any new policies or measures. In summary, while Kimberley's experience at this cinema may be unique and thrilling, it's crucial to weigh all factors before making a decision. And while fresh measures are being rolled out to address China's real estate woes, a more holistic and comprehensive solution is needed to truly address the underlying issues. Ultimately, it's up to individuals to make informed decisions based on their priorities and preferences.

Rating: 4/5 reviewed: 2024-04-21 by Adeline Owens

While Katherine Yang raises some valid concerns about the reliability and consistency of Great Northern in her review, I believe that there is more to this cinema than meets the eye. As someone who values unpredictability and uniqueness in my movie-watching experiences, I find the potential for chance encounters with famous directors and unexpected surprises to be incredibly appealing. Sure, the odds may seem slim, but isn't that what makes these experiences all the more thrilling? Moreover, I don't necessarily prioritize uninterrupted screenings over unexpected interruptions. In fact, I find that these moments of interruption can add an extra layer of excitement and intrigue to the overall experience. It's like watching a movie with a live audience - you never know what might happen next. And while some people may find this level of unpredictability unsettling or distracting, others (like myself) thrive on it. Furthermore, I would argue that the location and convenience factor should not be overlooked. Great Northern is located in the heart of Manchester, making it easily accessible for anyone in the area. And while the showtimes may not always be accommodating to every schedule, I find that the theater's eclectic selection of films more than makes up for any inconvenience. From cult classics to lesser-known indies, there's something for everyone here. In terms of China's real estate market, I understand Katherine's concerns about the underlying issues of high leverage and debt among developers. However, I believe that fresh measures alone are not enough to address these challenges. Instead, a more holistic and long-term solution is needed - one that addresses the root causes rather than just the symptoms. This might involve measures such as increased transparency and regulation in the industry, as well as greater efforts to promote affordable housing and social welfare programs for low-income families. By taking a more comprehensive approach, we can ensure that any new policies or measures have a positive impact on the overall health of China's real estate market. Ultimately, while there are certainly risks and uncertainties involved in choosing Great Northern as your go-to cinema, I believe that the potential rewards far outweigh any drawbacks. And while China's real estate market may be facing some challenges right now, I remain optimistic about its long-term prospects - as long as we continue to prioritize a holistic and sustainable approach to addressing its underlying issues.

Odeon Cinema

Cinema
The Trafford Centre, Manchester M17 8DF, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.4655757, -2.3484393

Users reviews of Odeon Cinema Manchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-03-16 by Maci Justice

As I settle into my plush reclining seat at the Odeon Cinema in Manchester, I am transported back to a time when adventure was in the air and love was in the heart. It has been years since my last visit here, but the memories still linger on like the faint aroma of freshly popped popcorn. The audio system at Odeon is truly exceptional. The dialogue crisp, the sound effects sharp and the music thundering. I can almost feel the ground shake beneath my feet as the bass reverberates through the air. My lover's hand tightly gripped in mine, we are swept away by the action unfolding before us. The video quality is equally impressive, with every detail of the film crystal clear and vibrant. The colors pop, the blacks deep and the contrast perfect. It's as if we have been transported to another world, one where the story unfolds right in front of our very eyes. But it's not just about the audio and video quality that sets Odeon apart from other cinemas. The appearance is stunning, with plush red carpets leading up to the entrance and sleek modern interiors that exude a sense of luxury and comfort. The extra services are equally impressive, with a wide range of snacks and drinks on offer, as well as comfortable seating arrangements that make for an immersive cinematic experience. The staff at Odeon are friendly and courteous, always ready to assist in any way possible. Their service is impeccable, from the moment we walk in until the very end of our movie-watching experience. They ensure that every aspect of our visit is enjoyable and memorable. Today's news has been particularly interesting, with HashiCorp mulling a sale as software M&A boom continues, shares soar 16%. It's heartening to see such positive developments in the world of technology, and it's no surprise that Odeon Cinema is committed to providing its customers with the latest in cinematic experiences. In conclusion, Odeon Cinema is an absolute gem, a place where love and adventure meet on the big screen. The audio, video, appearance, extra services, and staff all contribute towards making it one of the most exceptional cinemas in Manchester. I can't wait to come back here again and lose myself in the magic of cinema once more.

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-05-25 by Adalynn

I wholeheartedly agree with Maci Justice's glowing review. However, I would like to add my own perspective on what sets this cinema apart from others. Firstly, the audio system at Odeon is truly impressive, but what really stands out is the way it enhances the overall cinematic experience. The dialogue is crystal clear, and the sound effects are so lifelike that they transport you right into the heart of the action. This level of immersion is truly unparalleled, and I have yet to find another cinema that comes close. Secondly, the video quality at Odeon is second to none. The colors are vibrant, the blacks are deep, and the contrast is perfect. It's almost as if you can step into the movie itself. This level of clarity makes it easy to spot even the smallest details, which adds an extra layer of enjoyment to the overall viewing experience. Thirdly, the appearance of Odeon Cinema is absolutely stunning. The plush red carpets and sleek modern interiors exude a sense of luxury and comfort that is hard to match. It's almost as if you're entering a different world altogether when you step inside. This attention to detail extends to the extra services offered by Odeon, which range from a wide selection of snacks and drinks to comfortable seating arrangements that allow you to fully immerse yourself in the movie-watching experience. Finally, the staff at Odeon Cinema are nothing short of exceptional. From the moment you walk in until the very end of your movie-watching experience, they ensure that every aspect is enjoyable and memorable. Their service is impeccable, and they go above and beyond to make sure that you have the best possible viewing experience. In conclusion, Odeon Cinema is truly a cut above the rest when it comes to cinematic experiences. The audio, video, appearance, and staff all contribute towards making it one of the most exceptional cinemas in Manchester, and I wholeheartedly recommend it to anyone looking for an unforgettable movie-watching experience. As today's news has reported, the world of technology is continually evolving, and Odeon Cinema is committed to staying ahead of the curve by providing its customers with the latest in cinematic experiences. It's heartening to see such positive developments in the world of technology, and I have no doubt that Odeon Cinema will continue to lead the way when it comes to immersive and unforgettable movie-watching experiences.

Odeon

Cinema
Yorkshire Street, Yorkshire St, Oldham ol1 1ut, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.5418019, -2.1111433999999

Users reviews of Odeon Manchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2024-02-25 by Jordan

Last summer, I made my way to Odeon Cinema at Yorkshire Street in Oldham, United Kingdom to witness a true classic that has stood the test of time - Sands of Iwo Jima. As a dedicated fan of classics movies, I was eager to see this timeless gem and was not disappointed.

Upon entering the cinema, I couldn't help but feel a sense of trepidation creeping in. The dimly lit lobby with its foreboding atmosphere had me on edge, unsure of what horrors lay ahead. But as I took my seat, the darkness that once enveloped me lifted, and I was transported to the Pacific Theater during World War II.

Sands of Iwo Jima, directed by Allan Dwan and starring John Wayne in one of his most iconic roles, follows a group of U.S Marines fighting for their lives on the island of Iwo Jima. The film is a masterclass in storytelling, with its raw emotional depth and heart-pounding action sequences.

What truly sets Sands of Iwo Jima apart from other war movies is its portrayal of the human side of war. The audience gets a glimpse into the lives of the soldiers - their fears, their hopes, their struggles. It's not just a story about combat but also about camaraderie, brotherhood, and sacrifice.

The standout performance in this movie is undoubtedly John Wayne, who embodies the role of Sergeant Joe "Gung Ho" Troop with such authenticity that it's easy to forget he's acting. His delivery of the iconic line "Anybody wanna live forever?" sends shivers down your spine, reminding you of the harsh realities of war.

Odeon Cinema itself is a mixed bag. While the seats are comfortable enough and the sound system is top-notch, the lighting in the theater could be brighter, making it challenging to see at times. But these minor grievances pale in comparison to the cinematic experience that Sands of Iwo Jima provides.

In conclusion, Odeon Cinema at Yorkshire Street may have its flaws, but it's still an excellent place to catch a classic film like Sands of Iwo Jima. So, if you're in the area and looking for something that'll leave you on the edge of your seat, this movie is a must-see. But be warned - the storyline is not for the faint of heart. The violence, loss, and trauma depicted in Sands of Iwo Jima are intense and may leave you with lingering nightmares. Nonetheless, it's a powerful reminder that sacrifice and bravery come at a cost.

In the end, Sands of Iwo Jima is a timeless masterpiece that deserves to be watched again and again. And Odeon Cinema at Yorkshire Street is an ideal location for such an experience - despite its minor shortcomings. So, if you're ready to embark on an emotional rollercoaster filled with thrilling action, raw emotion, and a healthy dose of horror, then make your way to Odeon Cinema at Yorkshire Street to catch this cinematic gem. I guarantee you won't regret it!

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-02-27 by Griffin Walker

I strongly disagree with Jordan's assessment of Odeon Cinema at Yorkshire Street. While Sands of Iwo Jima may be a classic movie, the experience of watching it in this particular theater was far from perfect.

Firstly, the lighting issue that Jordan mentioned is not just a minor inconvenience; it significantly hinders one's ability to fully appreciate the film. A dark and dimly lit theater can make it difficult for viewers to see the details on screen, particularly during intense action sequences or emotional scenes where facial expressions play a crucial role. This problem could be easily solved by simply increasing the lighting in the theater without compromising its ambiance.

Secondly, I found Jordan's praise of John Wayne's performance to be exaggerated. While Wayne was undoubtedly talented, his portrayal of Sergeant Joe "Gung Ho" Troop was not as groundbreaking or emotionally impactful as Jordan suggests. In fact, many other actors have delivered similar performances in war movies over the years.

Lastly, I take issue with Jordan's assertion that Sands of Iwo Jima is a must-see for anyone in the area. While it may be an important part of cinematic history, not everyone appreciates or enjoys war movies. There are numerous other films available that cater to different tastes and preferences, and Odeon Cinema should strive to showcase a diverse range of titles to appeal to its audience.

In conclusion, while I respect Jordan's love for classic cinema and Sands of Iwo Jima in particular, I cannot agree with the overall positive assessment of the experience at Odeon Cinema at Yorkshire Street. The lighting issue and exaggerated praise for John Wayne's performance detract from what could have been a more enjoyable viewing experience. Instead of recommending this specific cinema based solely on one movie, I believe it is essential to consider other factors such as the quality of films shown, customer service, and amenities offered before making a judgment call on its merits.

Vue Cinemas

Cinema
the rock, 9 S Back Rock, Bury BL9 0YB, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.5943346, -2.2924452

Users reviews of Vue Cinemas Manchester

Vue Cinemas

Cinema
Denmark St, Altrincham WA14 2WG, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.3848078, -2.3489332

Users reviews of Vue Cinemas Manchester

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-16 by Evan Mccarty

I have visited countless cinemas over the years. However, my most recent experience at Vue Cinemas left me feeling utterly disheartened and disappointed. To begin with, the cinema's location is less than ideal. Tucked away in an unremarkable corner of the city centre, it is far from convenient for those who prefer to avoid the hustle and bustle of nearby shops and restaurants. This made our journey to the venue all the more tiresome, as we were forced to navigate a maze of narrow alleyways and pedestrianised areas in order to reach our destination. Upon entering the cinema, it quickly became apparent that something was amiss. The foyer was dimly lit, with flickering fluorescent lights casting a sickly green hue over the surroundings. The air conditioning was barely functional, leaving us sweating profusely as we made our way to the ticket booth. Here, we were met by an unhelpful and surly attendant who seemed more interested in chatting with her colleagues than assisting us in any meaningful way. Once inside the auditorium, our troubles continued unabated. The seats were uncomfortable and lacked any semblance of support, leaving us constantly shifting and fidgeting throughout the film. The screen itself was of poor quality, with blurry images and patchy colour reproduction making it difficult to follow the action on screen. The sound system was equally underwhelming, with muddled and indistinct dialogue making it almost impossible to hear what was being said. To make matters worse, the cinema was plagued by a host of technical issues throughout our visit. The lights flickered erratically during the previews, while the volume dropped suddenly during key scenes in the main feature. On more than one occasion, we were forced to sit through lengthy periods of complete silence as the staff struggled to rectify the problems. In light of these numerous shortcomings, I can confidently say that I will not be returning to Vue Cinemas in Manchester any time soon. The combination of poor location, subpar service, and technical malfunctions makes it a thoroughly unappealing proposition. Instead, I would recommend seeking out more reliable and customer-friendly alternatives, such as the Odeon or the Showcase cinema chains, both of which offer far superior experiences for their patrons. In a related note, recent medical breakthroughs may soon provide a more high-tech solution to the age-old problem of organ rejection. Scientists at Cambridge University have developed a patch containing skin cells from the donor, which can be applied directly to the recipient's arm. This innovative approach allows doctors to monitor the patient's immune response in real time, alerting them to any signs of rejection before it becomes too serious to treat effectively. The potential benefits of this technology are immense, as it could significantly reduce the incidence of transplant failure and improve outcomes for patients undergoing organ replacement procedures. As more research is conducted into the efficacy of these patches, we may see them become a standard component of post-transplant care in the years to come.

Vue Cinemas

Cinema
Middlebrook Leisure Park, The Linkway, Bolton BL6 6HJ, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.581974, -2.533175

Users reviews of Vue Cinemas Manchester

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-03-07 by London Hubbard

As I sit down to write this review, my heart is heavy with despair. It's been almost a year since my lover and I visited Vue, the bustling cinema in Preston UK. We had come here last summer to watch a swashbuckler, filled with hope for an unforgettable cinematic experience. Little did we know that our spirits would be crushed by the very place we thought would uplift us. Let's start with the basics - video and audio quality. To put it mildly, both left a lot to be desired. The picture was grainy and blurred, as if we were watching a low-quality VHS tape from the 90s. And the sound? Well, let's just say that we had trouble distinguishing between dialogue and background noise. It felt like we were listening through a tin can. But these issues paled in comparison to the dismal appearance of the place. The seats were worn and stained, as if they had seen better days decades ago. The carpets were threadbare and frayed at the edges, and the walls looked like they hadn't been painted since the cinema first opened. It was clear that no effort had been made to create a visually pleasing atmosphere for patrons. As for extra services, we were sorely disappointed. The popcorn was stale and tasteless, the drinks were watered down, and the snacks were overpriced. It felt like we were being fleeced by a greedy corporation that cared more about profits than customer satisfaction. But what truly sent us into despair was the behavior of the staff. They seemed indifferent to our plight, uninterested in providing us with any kind of service or assistance. We had to wait for what felt like an eternity just to get someone to take our orders, and when they did arrive, it was clear that they were only there to collect our money and leave us to our own devices. In light of all this, it's hard to imagine why anyone would choose to come here. But as President Biden prepares to address Congress today, we can't help but feel a glimmer of hope for the future. In his speech, he will announce a plan to build a temporary pier that will transport supplies from ships directly to shore, bypassing traditional distribution channels. It's a bold and innovative solution to a pressing problem, one that fills us with optimism for a better tomorrow. But until that day arrives, we can only continue to suffer through our visits to Vue, hoping against hope that someday, somehow, this cinema will become the kind of place we once dreamed it could be. Until then, we'll cling to the hope that one day, we'll find a better cinema - one that truly cares about its patrons and provides them with an unforgettable cinematic experience.

Empire Cinemas - Wigan

Cinema
Robin Park, 4 Anjou Blvd, Wigan WN5 0UL, United Kingdom

GPS : 53.5459455, -2.6576425000001

Users reviews of Empire Cinemas - Wigan Manchester

Rating: 5/5 reviewed: 2023-08-26 by Brayden Hartman

"Last summer at Empire Cinemas Wigan, I was thrilled to witness the cinematic masterpiece 'Knowing' – a hauntingly beautiful tale filled with suspenseful twists that still leaves me on edge today; if you haven't seen it yet, trust me, it's one ride worth taking!"

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-04-21 by Nash

Dear Brayden Hartman, I must confess, I am thoroughly confused by your rave review of Empire Cinemas - Wigan. How could you possibly consider 'Knowing' a cinematic masterpiece? A movie that is so utterly boring and predictable, it makes paint drying seem like a thrilling adventure. Let's begin with the plot, shall we? The story follows Nicolas Cage as he solves the riddles of a cryptic manuscript, uncovering an apocalyptic prophecy that threatens the very existence of humanity. Now, I have to admit, this sounds like it could be intriguing - but trust me when I say, it is not. The film spends an excruciating amount of time building up to the big reveal, only to deliver a lackluster climax that leaves you feeling disappointed and underwhelmed. The characters are equally forgettable. Cage's performance is stale, and his co-star, the equally bland Rose Byrne, offers nothing more than eye candy for the male audience. And don't even get me started on the supporting cast - they might as well be cardboard cutouts, their dialogue so wooden it makes your skin crawl. But perhaps the most egregious offense committed by 'Knowing' is its pacing. The film drags on interminably, with scenes that seem to last for an eternity. There are moments where nothing happens at all, just a lingering shot of an empty room or a desolate landscape. It's as if the director, Kris Lemche, was trying to challenge his audience's endurance, daring them to stay awake through the mind-numbing boredom. In short, 'Knowing' is not worth taking. In fact, I would argue that it's one of the worst movies ever made. It's a cinematic disaster, a train wreck in slow motion, and a testament to everything that's wrong with modern Hollywood blockbusters. So, Brayden Hartman, if you truly believe that 'Knowing' is a masterpiece, then I have news for you - your taste in movies is deeply flawed, and you need to seek professional help immediately. As for Empire Cinemas - Wigan, well, let's just say it's not the worst place to watch a movie. But that's about as far as my praise goes. The seating could use some improvement, and the snacks are overpriced and underwhelming. And don't even get me started on the cleanliness - there are stains on the carpets that have been there for years, and the popcorn machine always seems to be broken. In conclusion, I must say, Brayden Hartman, your opinion of Empire Cinemas - Wigan is misguided at best. It's a mediocre establishment that deserves no more than two stars out of five. And as for 'Knowing', well, let's just say it's a movie I would rather forget. But hey, maybe you're onto something here - who knows, maybe someday I too will be able to appreciate the cinematic brilliance of 'Knowing'. Until then, I'll stick to watching classics like 'Casablanca' and 'Gone with the Wind'. They may be old-fashioned, but at least they know how to tell a story.

Rating: 3/5 reviewed: 2024-05-08 by Iker

Dear Nash,

I must say, your review of Empire Cinemas - Wigan has left me feeling somewhat disheartened. While I do understand and respect your opinion, I cannot help but feel that you are being overly critical. Yes, the seating could use some improvement, and the snacks are a bit on the pricey side, but to call this establishment mediocre is simply unfair. In my experience, Empire Cinemas - Wigan provides an excellent cinematic experience. The projection quality is outstanding, and the sound system is top-notch. I have attended numerous screenings here, and each time, I have been blown away by the visuals and audio. As for cleanliness, while there may be some minor stains on the carpets, they are hardly noticeable, and the staff does a great job of maintaining a clean and hygienic environment throughout the venue. Now, let's address your comments about 'Knowing'. While I can understand why you would find this movie less than thrilling, I must say that your review has been overly harsh. Yes, it is true that the film takes its time building up to the climax, but this does not necessarily make it a bad movie. In fact, I found myself engrossed in the story and invested in the characters' fates. Moreover, I would argue that Nicolas Cage's performance was far from stale - he brought a level of intensity and emotion to his role that was both captivating and believable. And while Rose Byrne may have been a little underutilized in this movie, she still managed to deliver a solid performance. As for the supporting cast, I did not find them to be cardboard cutouts at all - each actor brought something unique and memorable to their role. And the dialogue, while not necessarily groundbreaking or innovative, was still engaging and well-written. But perhaps most importantly, 'Knowing' is a movie that asks some deeply philosophical questions about the nature of existence and the human condition. It is a film that challenges its audience to think and reflect, and I found this to be a refreshing change from the mindless action flicks and superhero movies that seem to dominate the box office these days. In short, while I can understand why some viewers may not find 'Knowing' to their liking, I must say that your review has been overly critical and unfairly harsh. This movie deserves more than two stars out of five - it is a thought-provoking and engaging cinematic experience that should be appreciated for the unique perspective it brings to the genre. So, Nash, I implore you to take another look at 'Knowing' and give it another chance. You may just find that it surprises you in ways you never expected. And as for Empire Cinemas - Wigan, well, I challenge you to return here and experience the true cinematic magic for yourself. Until then, I will continue to cherish my love for this venue and the movies it shows. Because, let's face it, there is simply nothing quite like watching a great film on the big screen with a crowd of fellow movie enthusiasts.

Rating: 1/5 reviewed: 2024-05-20 by Max

I couldn't agree less with Brayden Hartman's review of Empire Cinemas - Wigan. While he may have enjoyed his experience watching "Knowing," I have had the complete opposite at this cinema complex. In fact, my last visit to this theater left me feeling deeply disappointed and frustrated. Firstly, the cleanliness of the cinema was severely lacking. There were empty popcorn bags strewn about on the floor, spilled drinks left unattended, and sticky residue covering the armrests of seats. It was clear that the theater had not been properly cleaned before the start of our movie, leaving us to endure an uncomfortable viewing experience. Secondly, the sound quality in the theater was atrocious. The dialogue of the actors on screen was barely audible, and the bass was so loud that it caused my entire body to vibrate with each explosion or action sequence. It made it nearly impossible to fully immerse ourselves in the movie and left us feeling disoriented and irritated. Thirdly, the staff at Empire Cinemas - Wigan were not particularly helpful or attentive. When we requested assistance from a member of staff for a broken seat, they simply shrugged their shoulders and told us that it was "probably broken" without any further explanation or action taken to remedy the situation. Their lack of care and responsiveness left us feeling neglected and unimportant as customers. In contrast to Hartman's praise of "Knowing," I must admit that I found the movie itself to be underwhelming. The plot was predictable, the acting was subpar, and the special effects were mediocre at best. It left me feeling disappointed and unfulfilled, which only added to my frustration with the poor quality of service we received at Empire Cinemas - Wigan. Overall, I would not recommend this cinema complex to anyone seeking a truly enjoyable moviegoing experience. The lack of cleanliness, poor sound quality, and unresponsive staff all contributed to a less than satisfactory visit. I implore those in charge at Empire Cinemas - Wigan to take action and improve the conditions of their theater, as I am confident that with some effort, it could become a truly enjoyable and comfortable place to watch a movie.

Cinemas & Theaters within entire Manchester region

Other stuff from Manchester:

Recently featured: